No Products in the Cart


Tiele Gantois, Judo/Wakeboarder (BEL)

by Joanna Brashear on May 26, 2017

Tiele Gantois - Judo/Wakeboarder - Brugge, BEL




 Your Age: 18

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Lakeside Paradise in Knokke (Belgium)

Weapon(s) of choice: Wakeboard, wetsuit, helmet, lifejacket, GoPro's, shorts and a T-shirt.

What’s an average day for you like? Each day is full of surprises. I just let it come to me and I look if I can go shredding.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The turns are difficult to make the first time. The easiest part is once you know how to board you have a lot of fun!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The Best thing about being a female wakeboarder is that they have a lot of respect for you and the worst thing about you being a female wakeboarder is that they treat you softly.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? That the media should care a little bit more about female wakeboarders.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I would describe it casual and classic but with a rock factor.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Double up is one of my favorite brands for wakeboarding.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? If you look good you feel good as well and that is an important thing for women. Be yourself and don't change. You are who you are.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? At a scale of 10 I think it's a 7 1/2. Every sport can be dangerous like in ballet you can break your ankle and wake boarding you can break your arm but don't think about it just do it.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I was in a crash myself. I was doing my raley and I crashed into the water and I lost my memory for several days.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Most people get hooked him sport because of the adrenaline shot that just goes through your body.

What is your favorite trick? My favorite trick is a backroll.

Do you own any other toys? I have a snowboard at home that I sometimes use.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Just thinking of what the day will bring me and what I'm going to do if I'm going to shred.

What are three things you could not live without? I wake gear, my loved ones and my dogs.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? That there will be more female shredders in wakeboarding.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My family. They support me and everything I do and I'm really glad they did that because now I became who I am.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Julia Rick.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I think I would be making pies or baking cakes.

How about in the off season to stay in shape?  I keep in shape with fitness and we also have winter shreddings, which is really good so I can still practice.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Go to the European African championship again and make sure that I get in the top five.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Listen to music and talk with the other riders what they expect of the competition.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. I was third on the international two star event. I became third at the Belgium nationals of last year.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride?  I'd rather ride on the cable.

Favorite conditions? Sunny but a little bit cloudy.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? At Thai wake or in the Philippines.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Who knows of Protoje.

What turned you on to your sport? One of my friends.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Raley, bellair and frontroll.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Ole 360.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Judo and snowboarding.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Helping my mom and being crafty.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My double up Dell taco fi.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Always wear helmets and lifejacket because safety never takes a day off.

How would you describe your riding style?  Relaxing.

What would you say is your signature trick? Backroll.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Bionina lemon.

What do you want to be when you grow up?  Pastry chef or Tattoo Artist.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to?

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info