Tia Biro, Snowboard/Hike/Archer (ON)

May 26, 2017

Tia Biro, Snowboard/Hike/Archer (ON)

Tia Biro - Snowboard/Hike/Archer (ON)

Age: 24

Location: Ontario, Canada

Sport(s): Equestrian (English and western), Archer, Snowboarder (park beginner and all mountain) And avid hiker.

Instagram Handle: @atypical.adventurer

 

What does SheShredsCo mean to you?

She shreds co to me is a group of female athletes (and tony) who are there to support their fellow team 100%. We are a team, a movement, family. When I wear my gear I am extremely proud to do so. I feel that i am able to ask anything to my fellow team mates and in return they give support and helpful advice. It has helped me to conquer alot of my fears.

How did you get hooked on your favorite action sport(s)?

I got hooked on my favorite action sports earlier in life. I started riding/jumping when I was 10 years old, at that time we couldn't afford too much so I took every opportunity I had to be working with horses and riding. I started out with basic lessons and have worked my way up to training my own horse and competing recently at worlds in ohio.

Snowboarding: I have always had an interest in boarding and that started when I was about 13. I remember sitting at home watching female athletes partake in the Xgames and winter Olympics and I knew I needed to be A part of that sport. A few school trips here and there became not enough for me, so once I moved away for college I got a season pass every year up north. By the second year I was hitting the terrain park, becoming increasingly daring each trip. After an accident I took a break from the park and now am slowly working my way back into it.

For archery I got hooked a few years ago when my fiance got a bow I had already been interested. I picked up a bow and everyone was quite amazed with how quickly I was learning and I have not set that bow down since.

What challenges do you face being a female in the sport?

I only really have challenges in snowboarding being a female athlete. Especially learning the ropes of the park and hitting bigger features. I always get comments from male riders knocking me down if I don't make a rail or don't slide a box perfect, I just try my best to let it go and continue with my goals.

Where is the most unusual or exciting place you have done your sport?

I have dreams to travel to Austria and BC for snowboarding but that will not happen for a while. The most unusual/exciting place I have ridden would be Ohio as I have never travelled that far with my mare before.

What has been your most memorable moment so far?

Snowboarding: hitting a backside boardslide last season, nailing the long box and hitting a small jump with a grab.

Riding: getting my mare to trust me, jumping 3'6", competing at worlds in Ohio 2017 and winning world champion 2 gait equitation. Performing the freestyle routine I made and pulling off my no handed free gallop then winning reserve world champion.

Who/what are your inspirations

I inspire to one day compete internationally in show jumping with my mare or her offspring. And in snowboarding I inspire to be able to hit every feature in the terrain park with style and purpose.

People who inspire me:

Aimee fuller- pro snowboarder and Olympian

Ian millar- pro show jumper international.

Favorite thing about SheShreds products?

They are the best quality clothes I have ever worn. The designs are creative and functional. And the ideas of the ambassadors are used and always taken into consideration

Businesses: http://horsepowerequinemassage.com/ http://tiaelizabethphotography.com/ Facebook: 

 

 

 



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.