The Rodas Family, Snowboard/MTB/ID Skydiver (CO)

May 26, 2017

The Rodas Family, Snowboard/MTB/ID Skydiver (CO)

 

Your Ages: Christelle: 31, Emma: 5, Sophie: 3.

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): We are based in Longmont, Colorado. We love to ride the Boulder Bike Park, shred down Eldora, Winter Park and Copper Mountain resorts, and indoor Skydive South Denver.

Weapon(s) of choice: I love everything, and the girls just tag along! We snowboard, ski, skate, ice skate, hike, mtnbike, run, indoor skydive, climb, paddle, and take every opportunity to try new things like climbing, surfing, wakeboarding and more

What’s an average day for you like? Our morning is a sweet cuddle in my (mom) bed until everyone is up, and ready to start the day. Breakfast and getting ready for school. Heading to the running club first then school start. Afternoon are free for any activities of our choice, summer is more about paddling, hiking, running and MTN biking and winter is more iceskating snowboarding, sledding and skiing. We also have days where we just stay home and have an easy/lazy afternoon. Night is dinner, bedtime and some Mom time for me.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? For every single activity I do with the girls the hardest part would be to stay positive, and happy with how the day goes! Whether we went down one slope or 20 or if girls decided to stop after 10 minutes, it has to be fun! Finding the right balance between not letting them quit and not being too hard on them really challenges me. The easiest part is their happiness - these 2 faces show me how to enjoy life at its simplest.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? I think that the hardest thing for me about being a female, is people did and still do think I am a crazy mom. I would be a dad doing as much with my kids and I will be the coolest, but when a mom does it you are judged by many. I also get a lot of remarks about how can I do difficult things because I am a petite female and yet I'm strong enough to do so much with 2 littles ones.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Moms can be cool too!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I love adventure, new things and traveling. You can't contain me in one place doing the same thing over and over. I want to discover and take all the opportunity I can, and share that with the girls. You usually won't see me much without them. I have grown as an athlete that can enjoy sports even when not doing them at my fullest but just by sharing what I love to do and teach. Don't get me wrong I do love when I have time for just me and enjoy myself and learn new tricks by pushing myself.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? I own a lot of Lululemon, and now a lot of SheShreds too. I love Sorel boots. My favorite brand for the girls is Quechua, Decathlon. It s a French company that does quality apparel but not high priced. My girls closet is 80% of it for sports apparel. Made of Mountains is also an awesome company and I love their jewelry. Desert Crew Clothing make the most comfy hoodies I have owned, plus its mommy and me collection match. I just discovered Enso rings (silicone) and I LOVE them. Amazing! Comfy and safe rings to use while doing any sports you want.

What gets you pumped up for the day? The SUN!! The ground can be covered with snow, rain or dry, as long as I have sun I'm ready to go!

What are three things you could not live without? My family, Adventure & Snow

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? At first I didn't have many supporters. I took the girls with me to do anything, but as time went by, friends and family started to get behind me and my biggest supporter now is my husband. When I started indoor skydiving, one thing that was for me and only for me (Emma is slowly starting to like it), it was kinda the same thing. They all thought it was just a fun thing to do once but didn't get why I loved it so much. But slowly they understood how important it is for me to fly. I love it and I wish I could be there every day (financially impossible!)

How about in the off season to stay in shape? No off season for us!

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? We are more playful - so park, free ride, backcountry, bike park...

Favorite conditions? Powder for snow, warm water for aquatic sports, sun and warm for running.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? I can't pick one place, I want to be everywhere!!

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? No songs, just the sounds of nature.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? I love Chai latte or a green tea latte.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I wanna be just like all my shedding sisters :) they all inspire me so much! They are so talented - and amazing people!

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram @christelle_rm / YouTube

 



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.