No Products in the Cart


Sydney Deary Wakeboarder (FL)

by Allie Huish on May 26, 2017

Sydney Deary - Wakeboarder, Florida - USA

Connect with Sydney:
Facebook: Dearysisters and Instagram: Shredsistersydney

Your Age: 10

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Home: Central Florida

Weapon(s) of choice:  Wakeboard, Wakesurf, Skateboard. 

What’s an average day for you like? Weekdays: School –Afterschool shred when dad gets home Weekends: Have guests over and play at the lake.  Early shred session before going to church on Sunday. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest?  Difficult- Landing new tricks. 



What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport?  Best: Hanging with the shred sisters Worst: Not having as many girls competing with us at local competitions. 

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Seeing more girl athletes trying new things and having confidence doing it.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Confident. 

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds, Breathe, Justice, OP. 

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I like it when my clothes make me feel comfortable, confident and fashionable. 

How dangerous do u really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Not as dangerous if you follow the rules and have all your safety equipment on. 

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I had one when I was seven and took the board to the head.  It was cut it open and I got four staples. Now I always wear a helmet! 

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Fun!            

What is your favorite trick? Backside 180. 

Do you own any other toys? Wakesurf, wakeskate, boat, trampoline. 

What gets you pumped up for the day? Clear skies and lots of fun! 

What are three things you could not live without? Friends, Family, Candy. 

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Fun, good sportsmanship and awesome competitors. 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Dad, Mom, and all the coaches that have helped me. 

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Chloe Mills. 

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Doing my other sports (horse riding, surfing & skateboarding) and playing around. 

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Other sports and practicing. 

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Podium at Nationals. 

What do you do to prep for a competition? Right after a competition, I start learning new tricks that I saw other competitors do. 

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also.

Honor roll & Good behavior Award at school

National Fitness Award

2012 Gravel Tour - 3rd place 

2013 Wake Games - 3rd place

2013 WWA Nationals - 4th place

2013 WWA Worlds - 3rd place

2013 Gravel Tour – 3rd place

2014 Wake Games - 2nd place 

Horse riding (Eventing)  - many ribbons 

What’s your favorite “way” to ride( wake sport- specific, cable, boat, winch)(Snowsport specific- park, freeride/backcountry, urban)? Boat. 

Favorite conditions? Glassy. 

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? The Sea of Galilee, Israel because that’s where Jesus calmed the storm.  I want to ride there just like Shaun Murray did! 

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Sound tracks from musicals and movies I like. 

What turned you on to your sport? My Dad. 

Any new tricks you’re working on? Wake to wake 180’s. 

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Competing at Nationals and Worlds. 

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Horse riding (Eventing) and kiteboarding (when I’m older). 

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Making up games to play. 

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Ronix because they have good boards. 

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Wear my safety equipment and follow the steps I need to take to land it. 

How would you describe your riding style? Confident.

What would you say is your signature trick? Tail grab. 

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Cold, icy water 

What do you want to be when you grow up? Pro wakeboarder and Marine biologist studying sea turtles.




Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info