Sheree Perez Adaptive/Sit Wakeboarder (FL)

May 26, 2017

Sheree Perez Adaptive/Sit Wakeboarder (FL)

 

Your Name (and Nickname): Sheree Perez
Your Age: 30
Your Location: Florida
Weapon(s) of choice: Ronix 2013 Quarter Till Midnight - Sit cage built in Boulder, CO
What’s an average day for you like? Start my day with leg stimulation and leg stretches, ab workouts, leg braces therapy, emails and end the day with a sunset ride.
What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? If you've rode before your injury it's a challenge to relearn with your disability. But with prior experience it helps make it a little easier.
What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Wakeboarding in general women have a difficult time being taken seriously. Despite that difficultly women support and push each other.
What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More female adaptive competitions. But there's no competition at the moment for cable. I hope this changes and more women show a desire to want to ride.
Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I guess I live up to the name adaptive. Depends on my atmosphere.
What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds of course! No other brand that supports and empowers women like you guys do. You can always find me wearing Vans, Billabong, Rip Curl, RVCA, Fox, Nike and Body Glove. They support my lifestyle.
Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Confidence is everything to your performance. If you're not looking and feeling your best within, it's difficult to ride at your best. Love yourself. ❤️
How dangerous do you really think your sport is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I'm always sore, bruising or pulling something on my body after I ride but it's worth it. Can't live in fear. But I do pace myself to prevent serious injuries.
I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Surprisingly, none in person yet.
What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The calming factor of being surrounded by water and the fact water is more forgiving when trying new tricks. The wakeboard lifestyle hooks people to keep riding.
What is your favorite trick? Always Back 1. But those moments when I land or complete a 3 I'm very stoked. Depends which feature I'm doing the tricks on.
Do you own any other toys? I dab a little in Archery.
What gets you pumped up for the day? Listening to late 90s rap or punk music during the drive to go ride.
What are three things you could not live without? Wakeboard set up, my dogs and my leg braces.
What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Would love to see Wakeboarding in the Olympics and keep going in X-Games.
Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now?Everyone in the industry! Special thanks to Kevco, Dano, Amber Wing, John Lipscomb, Darin Shapiro and everyone employeed at OWC. They all strive to see the best out of me.


Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Oh man so many. Everyone has different riding styles and techniques which sets them apart. For boat I'd say Mike Dowdy, Harley and Amber Wing. For cable I'd say Max Helvoort, Yonel, Angelika, Ian, Courtney Angus, Carro, Julia Rick, Cody Hesse, Reed, Danny Hampson. Adaptive would be Meme Pagnini, Jerome Elbryct, Kevin Lindner, Bastien Perret.
What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing?Either trying some new adventure, beach, physical therapy or home with my dogs cuddling.
How about in the off season to stay in shape? Workout and physical therapy at home.
What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Being more consistent with my 3s, nailing the pool gap, transfers and rooftop.
What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Cable
Favorite conditions? Butter, no rain, no lightening, no wind, not a packed cable, warm temps.
Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Europe, Philippines, Texas and Aussie. Just a different scenery and culture change would be nice.
What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? "She's a bitch or Sock it to me from Missy Elliot. Control from Metro Station. Get your roll on by Big Tymers Like Woah by Black Rob"
What turned you on to your sport? The laid back lifestyle.
Any new tricks you’re working on? 3s
What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Surf Expo is the best time of year. Nonstop partying, riding and making connection with everyone in the industry.
What other extreme/action sports are you into? If you know me American football and Rugby has always been my obsession from previously playing. As far as participating in right now I'd say kayaking, skydiving, archery and snowmobiling.
If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Oh man Id whither away and die. HAHA
What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Ronix so far. It's light and durable with just enough flex.
What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Confidence
How would you describe your riding style? Urban
What would you say is your signature trick? Back 1 and 3s.
Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Just bottled water.
What do you want to be when you "grow up"? Worldwide inspirational female athlete
Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to?https://www.facebook.com/Shereeperez21 https://www.instagram.com/shereeperez/



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.