No Products in the Cart


Shannon Sahinbas, Snow/Wakeboarder (FL)

by Allie Huish on May 26, 2017

Shannon "Shay" Sahinbas - Wakeboarder/Snowboarder - Florida, USA



 Your Age: 15

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Lake Pickett, FL

Weapon(s) of choice: Wakeboard, Wake surf, Snowboard.

What’s an average day for you like? Wake up, eat, stretch, get the boat ready and then spend the day on the water.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Getting confidence and not being afraid.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? We get looked over a lot and we don't get the chances or as much money as the men do. The best part is we look amazing doing what we do and we usually have more style than the guys.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Have more female competitions and more support.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I'd say I have a lot of style. I'm not robotic; I have flow and I get lots of height, which also makes my tricks look better.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Billabong has some good apparel

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? You are never really playing an opponent. You are playing yourself, your own highest standards, and when you reach your limits, that is real joy. - Arthur Ashe

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Well I look at it as any time I get behind that boat I may never get in the same. For example, my knee - I never would have thought I would have dislocated my knee but I did. And I guess you really just have to love it because you're putting your body through a lot and falling is painful.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. When I was doing a scarecrow I didn't finish my rotation and bought a major front edge where I blew out my eardrum, had two black eyes and a super swollen face. That didn't feel good. Then I dislocated my knee and had to get knee surgery which forced me not wakeboard for 8 weeks.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? It's fun!

What is your favorite trick? Wrap Toeside backside 360

Do you own any other toys? My wakeboard boat MasterCraft X30.

What gets you pumped up for the day? When there is no wind and the lake is calm.

What are three things you could not live without? Wakeboard, Wakeboard boat and my parents.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I plan on going pro in a year or two.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My sponsors: Ronix, Sun Bum, Action Water Sports, B.Swim, She Shreds, and my two wonderful coaches JD Webb and Chris Laske.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? JD Webb is my favorite guy rider and Melissa Marquardt is my favorite girl rider.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I workout.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? What's an off season?

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To be National Champion.

What do you do to prep for a competition? I practice A LOT.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. 2016: •Pigs in the Pond: 1st Women's Boat Division 2015: •Tige My Wake Global Challenge: 1st Place Amateur Women’s Wakeboard 3 Trick Line. • The WWA Nautique National Championships: 2nd Jr. Women's Boat. • WWA Malibu East Regional Championships: 1st Amateur Women's Boat Division (combined Jr. Women's and Amateur Women’s) • Meijer State Games: 1st Women’s Boat Division, 2nd Cable Women’s Features • Lally’s Board Bash: 2nd Women’s Boat Division • Performance Gravel Tour: 2nd Women’s Division Boat 2014: • The WWA Supra World Wakeboard Championships: 3rd Girl’s Division • The WWA Nautique National Championships: 2nd Girl’s Boat • WWA Malibu East Regional Championships: 1st Girls Division (combined Jr. Women's and Girls). 2nd Girls Wake Surf Division • Meijer State Games: 1st Open Intermediate Boat Division, 2nd Intermediate Cable • Lally’s Board Bash: 4th Women’s Boat Division • INT Tri State: 1st Intermediate Division, 1st Jr. Kahuna Wake Surf Division

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Behind a boat.

Favorite conditions? Not completely flat and no wind.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Some where where the water is a pretty turquoise blue.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I don't really listen to music when I wakeboard.

What turned you on to your sport? I lived on a lake my whole life so I was naturally into water sports.

Any new tricks you’re working on? That is Top Secret!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Landed the wrap toe back 360.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Wakesurfing, snowboarding, and longboarding.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Another sport.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Ronix limelight because it's flex and quick on the water.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Be cautious.

How would you describe your riding style? Fast, big air, and lots of style!

What would you say is your signature trick? Wrap toe back 360 and heal back 360.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Redbull and water.

What do you want to be when you grow up? A Pro Wakeboarder.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? FaceBook: Shannon Sahinbas, Instagram: @Shaysahinbas, Twitter: @Shannonsahinbas



Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info