No Products in the Cart


Sarah Deary, Wakeboarder (FL)

by Allie Huish on May 26, 2017

Sarah Deary - Wakeboarder, Florida, USA

Connect with Sarah:  Instagram: wake_my_life and Facebook: Dearysisters

Your Name (and Nickname): Sarah Deary

Your Age: 12

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Central Florida

Weapon(s) of choice:  Ronix August 120 Wakeboard with Ronix Luxe bindings, Penny skateboard, Slingshot kite, Surf board 

What’s an average day for you like? Early morning and evening sessions before and after school. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest?

Most difficult: Landing spins

Easiest: Getting up and crossing the wake 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport?

Best: People look up to you because you’re a girl and it’s a boy dominant sport.

Worst: Can’t think of one! 



Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Silly, confident and friendly 

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds, Breathe, Ronix, Liquidforce, Roxy, OP 

How dangerous do u really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Not really dangerous because you can break bones doing any almost any sport. 

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. At McCormicks in Tampa I went around the 4th corner and ate it. Ouchie! 

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The fun/social side of the sport. 

What is your favorite trick? One wake front 360 

Do you own any other toys? Yes! A trampoline and tube. 

 What gets you pumped up for the day? Good weather. 

What are three things you could not live without? Friends, family & God 

What are your expectations for this activity/sport?  To be a professional wakeboarder. 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now?  My dad, mom, and all of my coaches. 

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)?  Emily Durham 

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing?  Relax, Horseback ride, and spend time with my family. 

 How about in the off season to stay in shape?  There is no off season for me because I live in Florida. 

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season?  Podium at Nationals. 

What do you do to prep for a competition? Practice, practice, practice. 

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non-sports accomplishments also.

- Honor Roll – Straight A’s

- Wake Games 2013 – 2nd place

- WWA National Championships 2013 – 5th place

- WWA World Championships 2013 – 4th place

- Overall Performance Gravel tour 2013 ( 5 stops ) – 3rd place

- Wake Games 2014 – 4th place

- Horseshows – three 1st places and other ribbons 

What’s your favorite “way” to ride( wake sport- specific, cable, boat, winch)(Snowsport specific- park, freeride/backcountry, urban)? Boat       

Favorite conditions? Glassy water and sunshine 

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? South Africa because that’s where my Dad’s from. 

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Alicia Keys – Girl on Fire 

What turned you on to your sport? My Dad was interested in the sport, so he got us into it.         

Any new tricks you’re working on? Switch heelside front 360 (one wake) 

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Traveling to events and meeting new people. 

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Horseback riding (Eventing), kiteboarding, and surfing 

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Become an artist (I love art!) 

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Ronix board and bindings because I’m comfortable on it. 

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself ? Wearing a helmet and doing things I’m ready for. 

How would you describe your riding style? Styled out 

What would you say is your signature trick? One wake front 360 

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Water 

What do you want to be when you grow up? Pro wakeboarder (if that doesn’t happen, a marine biologist) 


Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info