No Products in the Cart


Rosanne Steeneken, Long/Skate/Snowboarder (NLD)

by Joanna Brashear on May 26, 2017

Rosanne Steeneken - Long/Skate/Snowboarder (NLD)


Your Age: 21

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): The mountains of Europe

Weapon(s) of choice: Longboard, Skateboard, Snowboard & Camera gear that I have with me

What’s an average day for you like? When I'm not working I spent a lot of time with my family and friends. Longboarding is a big part of that.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The hardest is finding your confidence to take a step outside of your comfort zone. The easiest is making friends in the community.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Best is the stoke that's around the girls. The worst is how girls get treated by the commercial world, marketing wise.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Girls getting respect for their skills. And that all girls will work for that to. So no more sexy photo shoots but show your skills on board!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Always stoked on life and in for new adventures

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds of course! And Nike SB and Vans will always do!

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I think you can put some time in your appearance if you want. If shredding with makeup is part of you and makes you feel good, then do it.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? VERY DANGEROUS! But we know what we do. Skate with your heart and head.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. All I can say is my face kissed the wall in Austria around 60km/hr. Scooped some stones inside my visor.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The adrenaline and the community

What is your favorite trick? Squat slide.

Do you own any other toys? Mainly camera gear.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Early morning sessions.

What are three things you could not live without? Music, my boards and my family.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My close friends in my community. The Dutch Downhill Division is great.

Who’s your favorite rider? Rachel Bagels & Emily Pross

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Working for my own brand, Squares by Rose. Check it out: @squaresbyrose

How about in the off season to stay in shape? There's no off season in my world ;)

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Win a IDF race.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Falling a lot, but always getting up.

Favorite conditions? Dry autumn weather.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Photography

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Water, always water!



Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info