No Products in the Cart


Nicole Seigler, Snowboard/Surfer (CA)

by Joanna Brashear on May 26, 2017

Nicole Seigler - Snowboard/Surfer - California, USA

" /> " />



 Your Age: 18

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): I'm from and attend school in Riverside, California but I board in Mammoth Lakes. I spend about half of my week at both.

Weapon(s) of choice: My weapon is definitely a snowboard.

What’s an average day for you like? My average day includes waking up, workout a bit, sleeping, going to school, working out some more, and sleeping even more.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The most difficult part of starting snowboarding would probably be getting over the initial fear, whether it be fear of heights or falling on your face. The easiest part of it would be remembering how to repeat what you've learned.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst part of being a female in snowboarding would be the fact that companies don't make clothing that is as warm for females as they do males. One of the best things about it is that most people don't expect you to be able to do what we can do. It always surprises them.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? My favorite brands are ThirtyTwo, Burton,Oakley, Hot Chili's, Nomis, Dragon, Hestra and Volcom.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Honestly, I feel better when I actually look like a girl when I'm boarding but in reality it doesn't matter to me. I mean as long as I can still board the same, I don't care what I look like. It doesn't make a difference because I'm not trying to impress anyone.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I think its sort of dangerous. I mean for that first year of me learning how to land a jump, my tail bone hurt so much and my arms were covered in scabs which are now light scars.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. In the season of 2015, I was on a chairlift with my dad and from the chair you can see the main park which has these huge 60-65 foot jumps. We were watching this one guy. He was doing awesome. He hit the first jump, did some kind of flip and landed it perfectly. It was the second jump. He hit the kicker, started to do a double standing full, and he didn't quite land it. He ended up smashing his face into the landing pad. It was terrifying. He didn't get up and the ski patrol and ambulance were there instantly. I really hope that he's okay.

Do you own any other toys? I have two surfboards but I haven't been able to get out in a couple of years. Outside of sports, I have two new pottery wheels. They're a great way to spend a weekend with family and friends.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Knowing that today is another day to either get better or get worse. I can't let the latter happen.

What are three things you could not live without? Snowboarding, Family, and Art

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I don't really know what I expect. I guess nothing really because who knows what's going to happen.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My family are my biggest supporters. Without my parents I wouldn't be able to board every week, and I wouldn't be pushed to the level I am without my brothers.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? In my spare time I'm with my friends and family. We don't do anything in particular, just hang out and see where the day takes us.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I do gymnastics a couple of times a week to stay in shape and I continue my gym work out so I have something going on. Then if I get a chance to hang out with friends, we go hiking.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? My goal is to medal at nationals this April.

What do you do to prep for a competition? A lot of gym time and a lot of running difference courses until I get a time that I am proud of.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. I do boardercross and I've won a few medals for that. I'm also a pretty art greek. I'm a ceramic/3D artist and my art work has been in display at my local art museum several times.

Favorite conditions? I don't really have a favorite condition. I love powder days with my dad but spring slush with my best friend are just as perfect.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? I have two places that I really want to ride; Chile and Argentina. I love that the seasons there are opposite than where I'm from. It's kind of turned into a family joke because it seems so out there.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone?

What turned you on to your sport? When I was a kid my dad would take my brothers up to the mountains every other weekend. I really wanted to go with and my dad really wanted to take me so when I was three, he took me up with them. So my dad turned me onto my sport and I'm incredibly thankful for it.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? My best friend introduced me to acrobatics about six months ago. It's a completely different world. It takes so much balance, strength, and patience. It's awesome.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would definitely be with my friends making the crazy choices they are now.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I've been riding a Burton Social for about 9 years. I love this board. It's the board I really got comfortable with the sport on. I would have to say its my favorite just for that reason. Its soft, easy to flip, twin tails. It's perfect for me.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Having confidence really is key. If you're scared and you start riding up to lets say a kicked, you're going to slow down and you won't clear the landing. I get scared all the time. You have to believe in yourself.

How would you describe your riding style? I ride sort of weird. I was taught when I was three to ride switch so that is how I ride mainly. I later learned how to carve but of course because of how long I have been riding switch, that's just where I go. People, even my family, are always amazed that I can keep my speed while flipping the board.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Probably just water because I get really dehydrated.

What do you want to be when you grow up? I really want to be a veterinarian when finish my schooling.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? -
- Snapchat- colieseigler


Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info