No Products in the Cart


Marcel Sánchez Longboarder (DOM)

by Alex Parsons on May 26, 2017



Your Age: 22 

Your Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic 

Weapon(s) of choice: My longboard all the way! Balance board, and sometimes skateboard just to have fun. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner??The easiest? The most difficult is probably fear and the easiest is definitely to have fun!!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? That people will sometimes underestimate you just for being a girl.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes?  More projects like to empower girls and motivate them to join extreme sports.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Determined but chill.  

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Basically anything comfortable like all the SheShreds apparel. .  

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I believe you can feel fantastic no matter how you look, but I won’t deny that sometimes we want to look special. 

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Happily, I haven’t seen crashes that bad live. The worst was during Mortadella Slide Jam 2 when a local rider fell backwards doing a toeside and the back of his helmet landed straight on the pavement and bounced and fell again. Skate safe to skate another day.  

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The adrenaline rush and the vibes.  

What is your favorite trick? Basically any trick done with style is my favorite.  

Do you own any other toys? I have a balance board (too much fun and good practice!), and had a slackline but it got stolen, planning on getting another one real soon. I also have my stethoscope and all my med toys that surely are some fun!

What gets you pumped up for the day? Being alive. 

What are three things you could not live without? 
Food, water & air. 

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I’m hoping for the longboard scene to keep growing and to be known and accepted globally, I also expect the number of females will grow exponentially 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Definitely my boyfriend, my biggest spoiler.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? All the local riders are my favorite, Pam Díaz, Gianky Di Vanna, Cesar Pucheu, Wilbert Cava, George Gomez, Paulina Gallardo, Mauricio Gomez and Carla Faxas. Internationally my favorites are Emily Pross, Molly Lewis, James Kelly, Byron Essert and Joey Nickel. My favorites shooters for both photo and video are locals Mauricio Gomez and Daniel de la Cruz. Internationally I just love Michael Alfuso’s work.  

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing?  Study, sleep, read, go to the beach, go out with friends and with my boyfriend, and I’m always, ALWAYS singing. 

How about in the off season to stay in shape? During the off season I ride for fun so I always stay in shape.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To learn as much as I can and be a better rider at the end.  

What do you do to prep for a competition? Ride for fun, but focused.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. When I was like 8 I won a drawing contest on first place (won free ice cream!), at around age 13 I won a talent show with a belly dance on first place, received a medal for academic excellence on my highschool graduation, won a full scholarship for med school, and took first place on the Women division on La Lomota DH Fest 2 (2015). Placed 2nd on the Women division at La Antena DH 2K16.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride( wake sport- specific, cable, boat, winch)(Snowsport specific- park, freeride/backcountry, urban)?  Definitely downhill longboard!! But I also enjoy freeride, dancing and push. 

Favorite conditions? Tempered, a bit cooler than warmer.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? MT Fuji! Because I just have a thing with Japan, so doing what I love in a place I’m fascinated about would be more than a dream!   

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I don’t listen to music while I ride, but I’m definitely singing (aloud or in my head) ALL the time. I do like to listen to Alt-J before going out to shred..  

What turned you on to your sport? I used to ride skateboards when I was little but honestly I really sucked at it, then I met the longboard and the freedom and adrenaline you get just hooked me. 

Any new tricks you’re working on? Yup, practicing those standies slides.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? The trips, they are so full of good vibes and cool people just having a good time, doing what we love and getting to explore new places. 

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Surf, snowboard, racing cars and any other sport that involves a board and/or going fast!

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? That's easy: sleep!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My Vecter 37 from Original Skateboards, because it is just perfect for me. It’s good for both downhill and freeriding, has the perfect concave and wide wheelbase to play with.  

How would you describe your riding style? Determined but chill.

What would you say is your signature trick? A coleman slide with my knees together so my legs formed a triangle, it was hard to change my position while sliding but I’d say everyone knows that was my style for a long time.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Extra cold natural pineapple juice, fresh water and cold 7-Up.

What do you want to be when you grow up? The most extreme doctor on earth. 



Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info