Lydia Ferro Surfer (FL)

May 26, 2017

Lydia Ferro Surfer (FL)

 

 

 

 Your Age: 11

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Ponce Inlet Jetty, FL

Weapon(s) of choice:

Surfing:  Lopez Boards

Wake Surfing:  Kkrows

Skateboard:  Carver

What’s an average day for you like? School, Surf, Skateboard, play with my bunny & dog.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The most difficult thing is paddling to the outside, to be able to catch a wave. Popping up on your board was the easiest thing.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst thing is that they don't take girls as seriously as they do the boys. The best thing about surfing is dropping down the face of a wave, and having the perfect ride.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Sheshredsco & Kkrows & The Shaka Surf Co & O'Niell 


How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I think it is dangerous because I swim with sharks, jellyfish, and some really big waves.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. The worst crash was when I wiped out on a huge wave, and flipped backwards.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The ocean, beach, and catching the perfect wave.

What is your favorite trick? Working on my cutbacks.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Yoga.

What are three things you could not live without? Surfboard, skateboard, and my bunny.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Have fun and surf.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My Family, Sheshredsco, Kkrows, Shea Lopez & my surf family


Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? I have a few that I look up to. Shea & Cory Lopez, Dustin Richardson, Johnny 6 Toes, and Kelly Slater

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I do school work, play with my Bunny & Dog, swim, friends, sew, artwork, and yoga.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? She has started wake surfing, and will be training to compete by Spring. She will continue to surf and compete in the North Central ESA and other local events.


What do you do to prep for a competition? Get a pep talk from my Mom, and focus on where is the best place to paddle out


What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also.

For the first year and a half I surfed at Gnarly Charley Surf Series Girls 10&U White water (push in) I won the 2015 Summer series Championship trophy, and the Fall Longdoggers & Gnarly Charley Championship trophy. I also won hottest wave award at one if my comps!!!

It was fun surfing from NSB to Deerfield Fl and be able to surf so many breaks. I learned so much!! I even learned to ride the shore pound at Melbourne Beach Fl

2015 3rd place Girls 12&U Whitewater at Salty Sweet Pro & Am Surf Comp

2015 3rd 12&U Girls & Boys Nuns Beach Stone Harbor NJ (not push in & there was over 28 kids that surfed)

In 2016 I have worked hard and graduated out of Whitewater push in and paddling to catch my own waves.

I have joined the North Central Florida ESA this past summer and having a blast. I placed in Girls 14&U 16&U in my comps.

2016 4th place (out of over 30 girls) 12&U NKF Surf Comp

2016 2nd place Girls 10&U Salty Sweet Pro & Am Surf comp

2016 1st place Girls & Boys 12&U Nuns Beach Stone Harbor NJ

Won The Girls 10&U Championship trophy for Gnarly Charley & Longdoggers Spring Surf Series 2016

I am also so stoked to be a team rider for Kkrows!!! They have taught me how to wake surf and I love it!!! I will hopefully be ready by Spring to start to compete behind a boat


What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Surf.

Favorite conditions? 3 to 4 foot clean conditions and warm outside.

What turned you on to your sport? My Friend Lina.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Working on my cutbacks and turning.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? I dropped in a huge wave.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would be gardening.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Surf Board: Lopez boards. Skateboard: Carver.

How would you describe your riding style? Still working on that.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Sweet Tea.

What do you want to be when you grow up? A Pro Surefer and Travel.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? do_got_waves - Instagram, Lydia Ferro - Facebook

 



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.