No Products in the Cart


Kaeleigh Cook, Snowboard/Skateboarder (AB)

by Allie Huish on May 26, 2017

Your Age: 7 

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Alberta and British Columbia, Canada

Weapon(s) of choice: My snowboard, skateboard, longboard and mountain bike.

What’s an average day for you like? In the winter I am found on the hill and in the terrain park after school, and doing competitions on the weekends. In the summer I like practicing in the skatepark, and going to the beach. I have also started paddle boarding at the lake.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? I sometimes have difficulty at some resorts when I go to competitions when they have entries for kids, but the terrain park features are too large. And sometimes I have to compete against teenagers because not as many young girls compete in snowboarding. I still go out and try my best, and sometimes I beat the big kids. The easiest part about my sport is making friends. Most people in the snowboarding community are very supportive and friendly which makes it even better.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing is that the opportunities are endless. There is lots of room to grow and be noticed as a female in boardsports. The worst thing is when organizations are not expecting females to show up to events.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I would like to see more females at events, and supporting each other. The more girls that come out, the better events will be, and they will be better prepared for girls to attend.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Fun and fancy!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Salomon, SheShreds, 686, Roxy

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I like to dress up for all occasions. Looking good and feeling comfortable is a confidence booster.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I have had some big wipeouts, and even fell out of a chairlift it can be dangerous!

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? It is just a really good feeling to learn new tricks, or shred the mountain. I think it makes you feel excitement, or it can be calming which makes you want to do it more.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Seeing my friends at school, or at the hill.

What is your favorite trick? Boardslide to fakey on rails and Tailpresses!

Do you own any other toys? Tons of Lego!

What are three things you could not live without? Snow, candy and princess Lego

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Friends and Family

Who’s your favorite rider? Laurie Blouin

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Play outside with my friends, catch bugs and I like to do crafts or go to festivals.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Skateboarding and swimming!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Become faster, and get better on rails.

What do you do to prep for a competition? I usually ride the terrain park the day before so that I know what to expect, and if we are out of town...spend time in the hot tub and swim.

What competitions and other awards have you won?

1st place Pump Up the Jam Rail Jam 2017 U8 Girls

1st place Alberta Snowboarding Slalom Race 2017 U8 boys/girls

3rd place Sunridge Boardercross U10 girls

1st place Double Down Sunridge Rail Jam U12 girls
2016 Pump Up the Jam railjam - 1st place
CREAM Rail Jam Lake Louise - 2nd place
ASA Pete Navin Banked Slalom Sunshine Village - 3rd place

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Park

Favorite conditions? Warm bluebird days

What turned you on to your sport? My big sister started riding a year before me, and I just wanted to go so bad. I got my first snowboard when I was 3 and I loved it right away.

Any new tricks you’re working on? More rails, 180's and grabs on jump!

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Skateboarding

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Singing and Swimming

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Lots of practice, and don't give up.

How would you describe your riding style? Loose and casual.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Purple Gatorade and Chocolate Milk

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram @kaeshreds / Facebook / Youtube Ava & Kae Cook



Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info