No Products in the Cart


Heidi Josten, DH Ski/MTB/Trail Runner (NOR)

by Joanna Brashear on May 26, 2017

Heidi Josten - DH Ski/MTB/Trail Runner (NOR)


Your Age: 29

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Hafjell, Norway

Weapon(s) of choice: Scott Gambler DH bike, GoPro

What’s an average day for you like? My average day starts with getting my three boys ready for school and kindergarten. In the summer I usually start my days at 4.45 am to do my run in the morning before the kids wake up. After driving them, I study or I attend on lectures. I'm studying to become a teacher. When I've finished my studying, I prepare dinner before the kids come home. After dinner I'll usually do some yoga and a strength session before putting the kids to bed. When the kids are asleep, I'll either lay on the couch and switch through tv channels, or I'll be outside with my bike or dogs. During summer I'm mostly in the bike park when it's open.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? To me, the most difficult part was knowing the speed.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? I can only speak for myself, and the worst thing is to get people around you that are not into the sport to understand and accept the sport itself. Many people are very judgemental, especially because I'm a female and a mom.
The best thing is the community and how everyone accept you for who you are. It doesn't matter if you're a she or a he.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Vans, Bluegrass, Fox

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Well downhill riding can be really dangerous if it goes wrong. But compared with people's regular activities, it will depend on what that persons regular activity is. I think there's a certain risk in everything.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I saw my own. I got too high speed since I thought the jump was much bigger. Ended up "overjumping" and went over the bars, dropped my bike and crashed on my left side. Watched my bike hit the ground before I miraculously managed to crawl out of the trail and call for help. Ended up with a fractured collarbone, wrist, and a finger, punctured and collapsed lung, and I lost the feeling in my left hip. My helmet was cracked but luckily, my head was ok. Stay safe out there!

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? My guess is, the adrenaline.

Do you own any other toys? I have my old Oxygen snowboard and a pair of snowblades and a Nakamura dirt jumper.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Good music and an early morning run

What are three things you could not live without? My phone, my bike and my family and friends

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My family and friends

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I'm working out and practicing. Training my dogs. Mountain hiking lies close to my heart

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I spend many hours on workouts. I run and hike usually on a daily basis. And I do yoga and strength sessions every day.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Hopefully attend some races. Both in running and riding.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? I love the bike park. But I do also push my bike up on my hikes just to ride down afterwards.

Favorite conditions? Dry

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Rocky mountains and the Alps - just because it looks amazing!!

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I usually put my playlist on shuffle there's everything on it from classical music to Green Day

What turned you on to your sport? Just decided to try, and fell in love with it on my first ride. I've always loved bikes and when I was younger I rode my bike everywhere.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? When I rode the Rollercoaster in Hafjell for the first time. That's the coolest thing I've done thus far.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My favorite bike right now is my old Scott Gambler "Doris". She used to be a rental bike at Hafjell. Now I'm waiting on my new bike which hopefully will arrive before the season starts. And that's a 2017 Scott Gambler 720.

What’s the trick to riding and not hurting yourself? Believe in yourself.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Ice cold Carlsberg.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I won't, I was told it's a trap to grow up

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram: @heidi_2706



Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info