Hayley Sweeney, Snowboarder/Flowboard (UT)

May 26, 2017

Hayley Sweeney, Snowboarder/Flowboard (UT)


Connect with Hayley: Facebook: Hayley Megan Steed  Instagram: hayleysteed

Your Name (and Nickname): Hayley Sweeney (Cray Hay)

Your Age: 21

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Ogden, Utah (Snowbasin)

Weapon(s) of choice:  Snowboard, wakeboard, longboard, wakesurf, skimboard, outdoor gear. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? I think learning new tricks. The “falling leaf”

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? There are not many of us but it’s really fun to hang out with the guys.



What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I would like to see more opportunities for us to expand.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? I love Neff, Roxy, Volcom, Billabong, Dragon, and of course She Shreds.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The exhilaration. 

What is your favorite trick? I love to do butter 180. They are extremely easy but so much fun to do. 

What are three things you could not live without? Music, snowboard, and phone. 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now?  My family and friends. 

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Jamie Anderson. I would love to shred with her one day! 

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I am usually working or going to school to support my riding. 

How about in the off season to stay in shape? With summer and winter sports there really is no off season but other things I do are: yoga, running, and dancing to name a few. 

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? I would really like to learn some sweet new tricks and meet some awesome new people.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. I have two associates degrees. 

What’s your favorite “way” to ride( wake sport- specific, cable, boat, winch)(Snowsport specific- park, freeride/backcountry, urban)?  I like riding the whole mountain, a little bit of everything.

Favorite conditions? Warm spring day. 

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Ki Niseko, Japan. I think it would be a fun to board outside the country.   

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I listen to everything except for country. 

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Ozone Argyle, I can’t find another board I love as much as this one.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself ? I haven’t found that out yet.

How would you describe your riding style? Relaxed.

What would you say is your signature trick? Butter 180

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Hot chocolate

What do you want to be when you grow up? A Physician Assistant.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.