No Products in the Cart


Gwen Turner, MTB/Snowboarder (UT)

by Joanna Brashear on May 26, 2017

Gwen Turner - Snowboard/Mountain Biker - Utah, USA




 Your Age: 9

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Sundance, Utah

Weapon(s) of choice: Snowboard.

What’s an average day for you like? School, then piano practice or swim practice and snowboarding. On Saturdays we meet up with friends and all ride together. All my friends have siblings who are 5 so the little kids shred the rope tow.  Afterwards, we all hang out in the parking lot and grill food. The only day I really have off is Sunday and that's fine with me!  I like being busy. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The hardest is probably going straight well and hitting jumps straight on. 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst is there is always at least boys in my crew and there is only one other girl but she is still on the rope tow.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Artistic, fun and games, and beanie boos!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SHESHREDS, Roxy, Nike and Rome. 

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Any activity is scary or dangerous if you don't learn the basics. If people think me and my 5 yo brother riding fast, or doing rails etc is scary it's just cause they probably haven't tried it themselves. 

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. When I was going up fast to go into the trees the other day, I caught an edge and scorpioned straight into the trees. Luckily I missed them! 

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Friends, the outdoors and the excitement. 

What is your favorite trick? Hitting jumps and powder is my favorite right now.

Do you own any other toys? I have a mountain bike, a razor scooter and I got inline skates for Christmas! 

What gets you pumped up for the day? Knowing that I have swim team after school, snowboarding or piano or that I get to hang out with my best friend Kk.

What are three things you could not live without? My snowboard, my drop in ramp my dad built in our backyard, and my best friend Kk.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My Dad and my Mom, plus all my friends.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I usually am reading or doing Art, or piano.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? My family and I go bike riding, we like camping and going on walks. I spend a lot of time in the pool and that has really given me my strength.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To get better at jumps!

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Resort and my backyard.

Favorite conditions? Powder or warm and slushy! 

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? At the Olympics, to try all the cool jumps! 

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? My dad made me a mix last year that has Joan Jett, The Runaways and Beyoncé on it. Lately I have really liked Sleigh Bells and Taylor Swift.  I listen on my Jammypack.

What turned you on to your sport? My Dad started taking me snowboarding when I was 3.  My Mom and Dad both ride and so did my Grandpa. They all love the outdoors.

Any new tricks you’re working on? I'm dialing in my toe side turns and jumps.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I really want to get better on my mountain bike. I also want to try and go to Mount Hood one year to snowboard.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? For snowboarding I've had a Rome Minishred for the last few years but now I'm on a Rome Label 127cm.  It's a flat rocker and it carves great and floats in the powder.  My whole family rocks Rome SDS, from my Grandpa to my little brother!

My mountain bike is a 24" Scott Contessa, it isn't just a small bike with a pretend shock, it really cruises. I hope to take it to Moab this spring!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Ha ha ha, not catching an edge?

How would you describe your riding style? Fast, quick and speedy!

What do you want to be when you grow up? I'm still thinking about it but so far, a Doctor but I wanna do something outdoors too.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? I'm on IG and FB under Gwenshreds. Sometimes I post but my parents review all content.



Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Promo box

Someone purchased a

Product name

info info