Elyse Genet, Snowboarder (NZL)

May 26, 2017

Elyse Genet, Snowboarder (NZL)

Elyse Genet - Snowboarder - Rolleston, NZL

         

 

 

 Your Age: 25

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): New Zealand Mount Hutt & The Remarkables, Canada BC Big White

Weapon(s) of choice: 145.5 GNU Riders Choice, 143 Rome Wild Cat, 146 Forum Double Dog!

What’s an average day for you like? Right now Snowboard, eat sleep repeat….. Until I run out of money!

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Getting Started, can be expensive but once you start you can’t stop!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst thing is there isn’t as many girls out there pushing it like the guys, The Best thing about our sport is there are groups like SheShreds pushing the girls harder who are interested in the sport.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More SheShreders!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Volcom, TM Thirty-twos, Dragon, Sandbox and a few New Zealand Brands Mons Royale,RMP, Capitahl 

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Definitely dangerous! Compared to a Field sport we have a lot of obstacles to watch out for. Snow conditions, Trees, Rocks, Rails, Jumps, Speed and other people out on the mountain.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. On my Second season my boyfriend got a bit lazy doing 180s around the mountain at pace and broke his collarbone, then 8 weeks later crashed off a black pipe and re-broke his collarbone.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Adrenaline and Progression, And the scenery!

What is your favorite trick? Method.

Do you own any other toys? I own a collection of guitars.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Powder and Sun!

What are three things you could not live without? Family, Snowboarding and Music 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My Family, my Partner for teaching me , and friends! 

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Christy Prior super gangsta!


How about in the off season to stay in shape? Trampoline and a physical job.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? F360s B360s over bigger jumps.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? I Love all! Freestyle around the mountain with a train of people, to park with jumps and rails, to a powder day.

Favorite conditions? Sunny pow day with an afternoon of park.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Japan to experience their Powder.

What turned you on to your sport? My new Flatmates snowboarded and told me to give it ago, Loved it ever since.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Spinning larger Jumps , and hitting larger rails.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Playing guitar in a band ……. somewhere.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Commitment is the key, but easier said than done!

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Redbull or a V energy.

What do you want to be when you grow up? It's a surprise.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? 
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC38Couk--xEHcw0DIE5US6Q
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Elyse-Genet-1008042469275862/?fref=ts
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/elyse_sb/
SnapChat: elyse_genet

 



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Sheshreds.co Summer Spin to Win Spinner icon