Colleen Daugherty, Downhill Longboarder (TX)

May 28, 2017

Colleen Daugherty, Downhill Longboarder (TX)

 

 

Your Name (and Nickname):Colleen Daugherty “Dallas”


Your Age:26


Your Location (where do you ride mostly):Fort Worth, Texas


Weapon(s) of choice:Longboard, Hockey


What’s an average day for you like? Wake up and go to work as a Physical Therapist. Making a difference in people’s lives, making them stronger. Over the weekends I have time to either skate, have a hockey game or go hunting. Started shooting archery this past year and enjoy the new challenge.


What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? Not getting discouraged being one of the few ladies in a male driven sport. Keep your head up.


What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport?The best thing is showing that ladies can skate just as fast and as good as the guys. Worst thing is that there aren’t that many ladies in the skate scene to have a women’s division at every race. True in hockey too.


Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Fun and one of a kind. I’m always down to skate and have fun while doing it. I love a skate sesh when after every run we all are hyped up and smiling. One of a kind because I tend to do many things different and don’t really care what others think.


What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out?TxBaked, Bombsquad Longboarding and No Bull Longboarding are my top three favorites; all are Texas brands and good friends of mine. I skate a lot of Nike high tops or Vans, but foot braking destroys them fast. And of course, SheShreds!


How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities?Downhill long boarding is very dangerous, I’m not going to lie. I have been very luck in all my crashes to only walk away with bad road rash. One small thing can go wrong and send you flying into the concrete or whatever else is lining the roads. The best thing for someone to do is skate within their limits. In hockey, I’ve broken several ribs from a big hit I took last year.
I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Machado a few weeks ago, a guy was coming into crash corner booking it, nailed the last hay bail and flipped head over heels for at least 100 feet. He knocked himself out for a little bit, he went to the hospital. Found out he did not have a concussion (I’m shocked) and got 20 something stitches on the inside of his lip. Thank goodness for full face helmets and leathers.
What is your favorite trick?I love to go fast down hill and tried some free riding. My favorite free ride skill is two hands down toe side pendys. They are a lot of fun! What are three things you could not live without? Friends/family, my puppy and my ability to walk.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I work full time as a Physical Therapist. I have a loving boyfriend and 6 month old puppy to come home to and relax with after work. If the weather is nice we like to take Dixie for a walk or shot archery outside. We have a lot of friend competitions. What do you do to prep for a competition? Try and stay calm as possible, even though that doesn’t work. I like to listen to music to get pumped up, double check my equipment and chat with friends.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. Bayou Battle Women's Division 2015 - 4th Place Rock Around the Rock Women's Division 2015 - 1st Place Patriot Race Women’s Division 2014/2015- 2nd place Sam Houston Seasonal Women’s Division 2014- 4th place Rookie of the Year 2011 in Roller Derby What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I like to listen to anything rock, pop or anything upbeat before I skate. I don’t not listen to music when I am skating because it can get dangerous during pack runs and being within inches of each other; you need to be able to hear them.

What turned you on to your sport? I grew up with skates on my feet so hockey was a no brainer. My boyfriend got me into archery and hunting this past year.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I enjoy reading books and recently started a bullet journal.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Powerade/gaterade and water.
What do you want to be when you grow up? Last year I graduated from PT school and now working as a full time Physical Therapist. I would love to specialize in an area one day maybe in wound care or neurology.
Connect with Colleen:
Facebook: Colleen Rose
Instagram: Colleenrdaugherty
Twitter:cdaugherty2012
Youtube:Colleen Daugherty


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.