Chelsea Camilleri, Dirt Bike/MTB/Snowboarder (ON)

May 26, 2017

Chelsea Camilleri, Dirt Bike/MTB/Snowboarder (ON)

Chelsea Camilleri - Offroad DB/MTB/Snowboarder/Yogi - Canada


 

Your Age: 25

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Montreal, Canada

Weapon(s) of choice:  Rome Crail Snowboard (although I really am trying to get a Arbor board in the near future) KTM 125 dirt bike & Specialized mountain bike<

What’s an average day for you like?"Honestly, my average days mainly involve going to school/work in Montreal, and trying to incorporate healthy eating habits, meditation, and yoga when I can. On those awesome days that I get to get out of the city and explore I usually send it to the mountain early and try to get a good full day of riding my snowboard in. Race days are usually pretty chaotic. Lots of packing up the van/gear, dirt bike, food, etc. Waking up super early to drive usually around 2 hours to get to where the races are held(always in different spots) and getting my gear unloaded for the day. 10:20am is the first moto of the day where the womens class races for a total of 30 mins, and the second moto takes place at 2:20pm. Both race points are added together to determine who wins for the day. "

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? For snowboarding I would have to say first learning how to carve, once you get that down your skills will just build as time goes on. For dirt bikes I had a bit harder time learning. It takes a lot of balance and strength. I would say the hardest part would be learning how to properly use the clutch without the bike stalling.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? There are not many female dirt bike riders in the industry, although there are a select few that are INSANE riders. I have a hard time finding girls to ride with and do other adventurous activities. Sheshreds is awesome in that sense because it brings this small community together and allows me to find local lady shredders. One last thing I would say is the fact that mostly all female gear has gender stereotypical colours in it (pink, purple) BLUE and GREEN are my favourite colours!!! Please stop assuming that women love pink!

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More ladies!!! More competition would be amazing and would show others that yeah there are a lot of girls who want to get involved.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Tom boy haha. I'm really into bohemian style clothes but for riding I love to be comfortable, not super tight, and laid back.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? For dirt bikes: Fox, Troy Lee Designs, Shift, Fly, Sidi Boots, FXR RacingFor snowboarding: Rome, Airblaster, Arbor Snowboards, SheShreds.co, Holden, Vans, Smith, Oakley, Jones Snowboards, Capita, Dakine

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best?Well I think that they both go hand in hand, it's hard to feel good if you don't feel like you look your best, and that's whatever best is for you. Being yourself is super important. If you're looking good for someone else but it's not necessary your style, you're not going to truly feel good and have confidence.

How dangerous do you really think your sport is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I think it's super dangerous haha....but you can't live your life in fear.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I was at a GNCC in Florida where a rider crossed out of the main trail and for some reason (which should be illegal) there was rope tied from one tree to the next and he close-lined himself. Super scary to watch.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Probably the adrenaline rush to start...If you race also it's super easy to get hooked on winning if you end up doing good.

Do you own any other toys?? My camera that usually comes on all my journeys.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Watching snowboard/riding videos gets me pretty excited to try out something new. Jamin out to some music in the car on the way to the race helps too ;)

What are three things you could not live without? My camera, water bottle, and aloe vera...


What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Well in the series that I'm racing in I hope to see a lot more girls out there this year and hopefully get back on the podium at the end of the season.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? MOM DAD BEN(bf) ANNMARIE (bfs mom) These people push me on a daily basis and I definitely can't do it without them.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? I really like watching Anna Gasser, Marie France Roy, and Nikki Golden. They are seriously pushing the sport. The Little Things (Marie France Roy) Pretty Faces (Lynsey Dyer)

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I go to school at Concordia University, work, do yoga, try to workout, make videos/take photos, work on my photography.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Well like I said I am a 200hr certified yoga instructor so I tried to practice a lot/go to the studio. I use my juicer quite a bit and just basically try to overall eat healthy and do some home workout sessions. It works out quite well because I ride/race dirt bikes in the summer and during the winter I switch back to my snowboard.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Trying to cleanly land a 360 everytime on a snowboard and hopefully end up 1st in the womens class with JdayOffroad.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Strength training, yoga, eat healthy, try to do as much exercise as I possibly can.

What competitions and other awards have you won? This past season I got a 3rd overall for the JdayOffroad series in the women's class.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride?I prefer to freeride/powder riding but the park is super fun when I'm in the mood.

Favorite conditions? POWDER

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? I have always dreamed of going out to British Columbia to Revelstoke and other big mountains around there. Just the West coast in general I'd say.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? haha I have a riding playlist on spotify called gypsy !! Check it out. Awesome artists to ride to though: Damien Marley, Kygo, Major Lazer, Stephen Marley, Flume

What turned you on to your sport? 7th Grade ski/snowboard trip.....everyone but me picked skiing.

Any new tricks you’re working on?360, riding hills, jumps

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Won a race !

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Mountain Biking, rock climbing, basically anything fun.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I don't know what I would do because it is my outlet from my "normal" life. Probably just create some haha.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? KTM mainly because it has never failed me during a race.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Wearing a helmet.

How would you describe your riding style?I would say somewhat laid back but cautious at times...

What would you say is your signature trick? Haha well at the moment I'm trying to nail my 360s.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? WATER/powerade

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I'd love to continue doing the sports I love and maybe get into professional filmmaking female riders and others who have similar passions.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Youtube, Vimeo, FB, Instagram,Twitter etc. etc. Vimeo/Facebook: Chelsea Camilleri Instagram: Cbgypsy



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.