Callee Huntley, Skateboard/Snowboarder (CA)

May 26, 2017

Callee Huntley, Skateboard/Snowboarder (CA)

Callee Huntley - Skateboard/Snowboarder - California, USA

 

 

 

 Your Age: 4

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Volcom HQ in Costa Mesa, CA and my park in my backyard.

Weapon(s) of choice: Skateboard, Snowboard, GoPro Cam.

What’s an average day for you like? Wake up, eat breakfast, go to preschool, eat lunch, come home, rest, skate, eat dinner, skate again, read books, go to bed.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Everyone thinks I'm too young to shred.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? They think I won't be as good as my brother will be.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I like to watch skate movies and read books about girls that skateboard. There are only a few, and that makes me sad.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Tomboy Beach Bum.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? I love my SheShreds gear, but I also like Burton, Billabong, and PHP stuff.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? If you feel good about yourself, you rock harder. It's important to be yourself, but to try to be the best you can be at the same time.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I think if I wear my pads and helmet, I'm safe. It's important to learn to use them the right way too. My doctors and parents are very proud of me, but always say to wear my protective gear, and they want me to be safe.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. My worst fall was getting my pads on while I was sitting on the bumper of my mom's car. I fell off before I made it to the park and it really really hurt. I fell in our new half-pipe too, I got a big bruise.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Seeing how fun it can be for everyone. My friends like to watch me skate and then they want to try too.

What is your favorite trick? Drop in to the half-pipe, and pancake flips.

Do you own any other toys? Lots and lots of toys. But really, I have a few snowboards, a skateboard, two bikes, a longboard, paddleboard, rollerskates, and two surfboards.

What gets you pumped up for the day? To watch youtube skate videos of my coach and other girl riders that are little like me.

What are three things you could not live without? Strawberries, skateboarding, and gatorade.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I just want to get better and better.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My Mom and Pops and my baby bro.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? My mom! My coach, Jon Depoian is cool too. I like to watch their videos.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Go to the beach, play video games with my Pops, play with my brother, go to school with my friends and go on bike rides.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? In California it's always skate season. When we lived in Michigan I didn't skate yet, but we went snowboarding and dog sledding in the winter.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Learn to ollie and to stall on the halfpipe.

What do you do to prep for a competition? I don't compete yet. I would like to by the end of summer.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? I like to skate the half-pipe, and indoor parks.

Favorite conditions? Indoor and air conditioned.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Van's Skatepark, I have to be 6 to ride there. That's a bummer.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I like to listen to Dirty Heads, the Format and mostly punk rock.

What turned you on to your sport? My Mom and Pops thought it would help me with coordination and dedication. It did!

Any new tricks you’re working on? Working on riding the half-pipe all by myself.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? I dropped in just before my 4th birthday all by myself.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Snowboarding, rollerblading, and longboarding.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Probably picking on my brother or watching Frozen.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I only have one skateboard right now but I like to steal my mom's. Mine is purple and has a bear on it.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? I take a deep breath and try to be brave. If I fall, I know my pads will help me.

How would you describe your riding style? I've only been skating for two months. But I'm a total shredder.

What would you say is your signature trick? I just like to ride down big ramps.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Gatorade.

What do you want to be when you grow up? A Marine Biologist.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? 
facebook.com/calleeanna
instagram.com/calleeanna



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.