Amanda Banks, Snow/Skateboarder (UT)

May 26, 2017

Amanda Banks, Snow/Skateboarder (UT)

Amanda Banks - Snowboarder (CO)

 

Your Age: 20 

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Winter Park, CO

Weapon(s) of choice: Snowboard

What’s an average day for you like? I get up, take my pup on a walk, get ready, and head out to the mountain!

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The most diffuct is dedication to learn.. snowboarding can be hard to pick up at First! I always tell people to give it 3 days of learning. The easiest is falling in love once you have learned. The views, being on the mountain, it's unbeatable!


What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best is all the rad friends you make! The worst is being looked at unequal being a girl in action sports.


What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Id like to see girls be more supportive to each other and to just have the confidence to go out there and kill it!



Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Very comfy! I love beenies and big sweaters. Skinny jeans and vans are a must!



What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? For sports apparel I love 686 and Burton! They make such warm snow gear! I also love Huf, for sport or everyday apparel.


Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I feel like comfort is a good look on the mountain. I ride in what I feel good in and can move in so I'm not stressed about it the whole time.



How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? It can be dangerous if you aren't paying attention and being out of control.


I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I haven't witnessed too many, I caught myself wrong and broke my elbow riding once but didn't realize it. I rode down and waiting until the next day to have it looked at, I got a cast from armpit to wrist.


What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The adrenaline (and being on the mountain)


What is your favorite trick? Any grabs, I love jumps!


Do you own any other toys? I also wakeboard, skate, and climb.


What gets you pumped up for the day? Music is a huge one! It can completely change my mood!


What are three things you could not live without? The mountain's, my family, and my pupper! 


What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Just to keep having fun and progressing every day!


Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My family! I learned to board when I was super little so I could be with my brothers. My whole family ended up learning and so it became a family sport we did together. My dad is still my favorite person to ride with.

Who’s your favorite rider? My favorite rider is probably Danyale Patterson! She's got a unique style and is always fun to watch.


What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Go on walks, adventure around town!

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Hiking! And climbing mostly.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season?

Get more comfortable on rails, more urban riding.


What do you do to prep for a competition? Listen to a good playlist for the day.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Freestyle/Park riding

Favorite conditions? Bluebird!

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why?  Bear Mountain, so I can go to the beach after I ride :)

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I love super fast paced dubstep music! I have a lot from Flux Pavilion, Kid Cudi, and Major Laser.

What turned you on to your sport? Being on the mountain and just flying.

Any new tricks you’re working on? I'm working on board slides and half cabs.
 
What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? The coolest thing I get to do in my sport is hike with my dog and ride down. It's so cool being up there in the silence and just dropping into fresh lines.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I love climbing and wakeboarding. I've also wake boarded since I was little.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Probably reading, a lot!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? It's a tie between my Burton Deja Vu and my Capita Danger Pony. The Burton has rocker in the tip and tail so it just floats! The Capita is a slight camber under foot and flat tip and tail, so it carves amazing and gives immediate response.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Confidence is a huge part! Bending your knees, having fun!

How would you describe your riding style? All mountain

What would you say is your signature trick? Grabs, I'm always on the jumps.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Huberts lemonade for sure

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I'm not sure, I work in a board shop in a small town and I'm pretty content for now.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram:

@mandib419

 



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.