Wynter McBride - Ski/Slalom Ski/Climber (UT)

 

Your Age: 16 

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Ogden, Utah

Weapon(s) of choice: Skis

What’s an average day for you like? Wake up, play hard.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? It would be really cool to see all riders help each other out.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Being confident with how I look is really important for me. Happiness and confidence come hand in hand. I feel like I can conquer anything when I feel good about how I look.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Bumps and bruises are bound to happen while skiing, especially in the park, but it is so worth it when you finally land that trick you've been working on.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? You'd have to be crazy not drool over how gorgeous Utah mountains are. Being in the mountains skiing you gain a sense of self and how far you can push your body.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Coffee and music.

What are three things you could not live without? Family, nature, art.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Progression in every aspect

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My older sister, Skye. She has pushed me and supported me no matter what. We grew up on the slopes and she has always pushed me to grow with my skiing and in every part of life.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I love painting and drawing. If I'm not skiing or in school, you can bet I am making some sort of art.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I enjoy hiking and climbing. Paddle boarding is always fun too.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Stay stoked, not break myself, progress a ton.

What do you do to prep for a competition? I get really nervous at first but once I start talking to other competitors I calm down a bit. Knowing the people I compete with helps to stay relaxed.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? I always love backcountry skiing and park.

Favorite conditions? Blue bird powder day. Nothing gets better than fluffy snow and a sunny sky.

What turned you on to your sport? My whole family loves snowboarding or skiing so I grew up on the ski hill.

Any new tricks you’re working on? 540's, 720's, 270 out of a rail, switch onto a rail.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Lots of art.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Imagine the landing.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Coffee or tea.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? HAPPY.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram @wy.nter / Twitter @wynter_mcbride