Stacy Whelan - Skiier - Maryville, TN

 

 

 

 Your Age: 26

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): My home mountain is Ober Gatlingburg,TN! It may not seem like much to some, but we make the most out of it!

Weapon(s) of choice: Line Tease twin tips

What’s an average day for you like? Three days a week are spent at a local hospital working 7a-7p as a registered nurse. I never know what to expect or what’s going to happen on those days! Days off are typically spent enjoying time with my wonderful husband and together crushing the mountain!  We are recently new homeowners so there are always things to be done around the house.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest?  Mastering how to walk in ski boots is pretty hard!  But on a more serious note, controlling your mind and not psyching yourself out can be pretty tough.  Just stick to the quote, “If you believe in yourself anything is possible!” The easiest part of skiing is letting loose and having fun!

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I think a lot has changed already in the skiing and snowboarding industry that continues to involve females. For instance, I’ve seen a lot happening with resorts that host events specifically geared towards women, and organizations or groups (i.e. Sheshreds, Shejumps) that have been created that empower women to embrace their feminism, as well as their inner desire for adventure and action. Both of these things are very encouraging for women and increase participation. I only hope to see more of it!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? For a major brand, I love Armada. For a smaller and more local brand, I love repping my buddy’s products. You can check them out at mySTZ.com. It’s wake/skate/surf/snow apparel.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Not sure if this counts or not, but seeing it on Youtube means you’ve pretty much experienced it in real life. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSeUqpPk6IA. “HIS ANKLES ARE BROKEN!!” Haha cracks me up every time.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The lifestyle itself: It gets you outside, it keeps you in shape, and it’s by far, hands down, the best stress reliever.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My older sister Kim. Without her selflessness I may have never touched skis to snow! Since I was the youngest out of five, she always dragged me along with her everywhere she went! I owe it to her big time. Then there’s my hubby, Brendan, and my local friends on the mountain who inspire me into wanting to progress more in freestyle skiing.


What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing?

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Hiking the Great Smoky Mountains of course!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? My goal this season was to ride one of those intimidating rails, which, believe it or not, I’ve already accomplished this season.  Thanks to Sheshreds for giving me that extra boost of confidence in myself! 

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Oh man, nothing beats those back bowls at Keystone, Colorado on a good pow day. Add in some sweet tree lines and that’s money!

Favorite conditions?Considering that I ride mostly in the southeastern part of the United States, anything but ice is great for me!

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? JAPOW!!! 1) I’m Asian, 2) its Japan…

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone?

What turned you on to your sport? I love it because it’s an individual sport. You are the deciding factor in how you perform and how you progress. Not her, not him, just you.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? First, an ice cold cup of H20, and then an ice cold beer.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? https://www.facebook.com/stacy.henderson.777
https://www.instagram.com/stacy_skis/