Sophie Geohagan - Wakeboard/Skateboarder - Alabama, USA

 

 

 

 Your Age: 6

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Gantt Lake, South Alabama

Weapon(s) of choice: Ronix Wakeboard, Hyperlite Gear, SheShreds Gear, Eno, Traveling, Flying, Surfing.

What’s an average day for you like? Rocking 1st Grade and dreaming of shredding. Mom takes me home to our mini paradise on the lake, I walk down the dock and hop on a boat. Dad takes me out on his Centurion or my instructor takes me out on the Moomba.
Recently, I started private lessons in tumbling to kill an invert this summer.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? I am completely blind in my left eye (my optic nerve never developed), so when I go out heel side and cut in - I can't see the wake. Imagine jumping the wake with your eyes closed. No excuses though, shred on.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Best - Surprising the spectators in a male dominated sport. Worst - Assumptions.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Promotion of extreme female athletes in all states and spreading their love of shreddin'.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Shreddy Ready! Snapbacks and hoodies.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds, of course. Also Hurley, Vans, and Local Skate Shops.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? When you are confident and embrace your own style, you feel capable of slaying the day. When you are comfortable in your own skin, you can share your lifestyle with everyone interested.


How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Pretty extreme, especially when you scorpion.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I saw a shredder eat a rail.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Good vibes.

What is your favorite trick? I love doubling and passing under my partner's rope.
The power slide is sick because I get to spray people. At the moment, my favorite trick is my toe-side wake jump.

Do you own any other toys? I like to dress up like a pirate and play with my swords.

What gets you pumped up for the day? "Welcome to my House" - You should listen to it.


What are three things you could not live without? Boards, Eno, Mom.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Hit an invert at 6 years old.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My parents, fellow SheShreds ladies, and my coach - Colton Meeks (check out his YouTube vid).

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? My coach, of course, Colton Meeks.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I love to travel.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Train in the off season - win during the shred season! Wetsuits!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Invert!

What do you do to prep for a competition? Jam out to "Welcome to My House".

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. State Champion in Alabama INT Mini-Outlaw.
INT Alabama -
1st Stop - 1st Place
2nd Stop - 2nd Place
3rd and 4th Stop - 3rd Place
Kindergarten -- Citizenship Award, Academic Award


What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Boat.

Favorite conditions? In water smooth as glass.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Hawaii.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? "Welcome to My House"

What turned you on to your sport? My Dad bought a boat, I'm half fish, and my Popi bough my board.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Consistently riding switch.


What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Became involved in SheShreds.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I want a dirtbike (Mom hasn't agreed yet).

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? ... Bored.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Ronix Wakeboard - Only one I've tried!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Find your zone and hold on.

How would you describe your riding style? Slaying.

What would you say is your signature trick? I have an epic toe side jump, which is interesting because I'm completely blind in my left eye - so, I just jump without knowing what the wake looks like.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Water.

What do you want to be when you grow up? Wakeboard Coach.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? 
FB - Sophie Geohagan