Sienna Brewer - Wakeboard/Wakesurfer (MS)

 

Your Age: 10 

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Pascagoula River 

Weapon(s) of choice: Liquid Force or Ronix wakeboard, Hyperlite wakesurf, Bounceboard, Ripstik

What’s an average day for you like? School, homework, outside. If I'm not riding, I like to jump on my trampoline or make videos on musical.ly

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? A lot beginners have a hard time getting up on a wakeboard, but once they do, it's the best feeling in the world. The easiest thing is falling in love with it.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Being underestimated is the worst thing. The best thing is being a positive role model for younger athletes.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I would love to see more girls shredding.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I'm a free spirit. 

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheSheds is at the very top of my list! I also like Roxy, O'Neill. It doesn't have to be name brand for me to like it. If I think it's cute, I want it. 

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? When I look good, it boosts my confidence. 

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Walking down the street can be dangerous. I think it's important to take the time to learn proper techniques before attempting any sport.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Faceplants are the worst! I've not only seen them, but I've experienced a few. 

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The feeling you get when you get up on your board for the first time... It's the best feeling in the world. You can't help getting hooked. 

What is your favorite trick? I've mastered my 2 wake and it's my new fav trick.

Do you own any other toys? I have a golf cart, 4-wheeler, kayak

What gets you pumped up for the day? Knowing that I get to ride that day and caramel coffee :)

What are three things you could not live without? My family and friends, board sports, and chocolate.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I would love to see wakeboarding and wakesurfing grow, especially in my area. 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My parents and my sister, my INT family, and my SheShreds sisters. Thank you all so much!!! XOXO.

 


Who’s your favorite rider? Tarah Mikacich.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I love to hang out with my friends on the river. We have a huge sandbar in our backyard, so we are on the water every single day.  

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I spend a lot of time on the trampoline with my bounceboard. I have an indoboard that helps with balance for wakesurfing and wakeboarding. I take boxing lessons in the fall after school. 

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? I hope to master my 2 wake this season.

What do you do to prep for a competition? I take several deep breaths to help focus and stretch. 

What competitions and other awards have you won? 2016 was my first year to ride/compete Alabama INT
- 1st wakeboard
- 2nd wakesurf
INT Eastern Regionals
- 3rd wakesurf

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Behind the boat. 

Favorite conditions? I love riding just before sunset.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Anything with a good beat. I love Katy Perry's Roar and Dark Horse. 

What turned you on to your sport? Watching my neighbor, Eli Ehlers, ride.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I'm interested in kiteboarding. I've never tried it, but I had one of the local shops reach out and give me some gear and offer lessons to help them promote it. It looks like a lot of fun. 

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would find something extreme to do 

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Love my Ronix Krush and my new wakesurf, a Phase 5 Scamp

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Learning the proper techniques and not second guessing yourself.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Water.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I want to a pro wakeboarder and a positive roll model for young athletes. I want to be Gina Duffy. :). 

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to?

Instagram: wakegirlb Facebook: Sienna Brewer