Samantha Clifton - Snowboard/ Skate/ Globetrotter - WA


     

 

Your Age: 22

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Snoqualmie Pass, WA

Weapon(s) of choice: Gold Coast Cruiser (my new baby), Canon T6, my Passport-haha!

What’s an average day for you like? Wake up, tea (like, literally, an entire pot +), stretch it out, brush it out, smoothie. Work M-F, when I'm not working I'm doing homework and finishing up my ITAM degree through CWU, and working on my website & business endeavors (sammyjoclifton.com). I usually get out and play with the pups, ride, skate, and hit the gym for a little extra cardio. I usually end the day with some tea, then catch the Z's! I usually spend weekends with the fam bam or outside exploring.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Getting used to the idea you are going to fall (AH!). But, have no fear chickas! Everyone falls, and it usually doesn't even hurt that bad. My first few times riding on boxes were a breeze, so the first time I smacked my head (without a helmet/no-no), I was shocked, but also knew I should have been expecting it & could have been better prepared.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing is that you're a female in your sport-hehe. The worst, is that everyone is built differently. You may be smaller/bigger physicall than others, and thats hard not to compare to others, especially since it is so tangible. You can't see what people are thinking, you can only see their physical stature, behaviors, clothes, expressions. It can be hard not to compare yourself when you are starting out to the big boys hucking themselves off jumps- but from my experience they are stoked you are out there too because everyone is for the same reason. Just have fun!

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I would love to see more events at my home mountain. Small events, big events, meet ups off the mountain. There's a good community at the mountain, but it's hard to get involved in any competitive rising or activities that help you push yourself.


Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? My personal style is very laid back. Like really laid back. I sip my tea, enjoy tasty vegan cuisine, and booking cheap tickets around the world on a daily basis. I would say that I act on things as they come my way, and don't often pass up opportunities.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Roxy has always been my favorite brand just all around for everything, everyday wear & gear. I also love Nikita and of course Sheshreds.co! I top my head with Findlay usually, and Nike has never failed me in the gym or on the mountain for my feetsies.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? When I'm not riding, I'm most definitely booking my next trip. This last year and a half I've gone to the Maldives, Sri Lanka, UAE, Hong Kong, & Thailand. Mid March I'm headed to Europe for two weeks!

How about in the off season to stay in shape? A lot of hiking and just eating healthy.

Favorite conditions? Blue Bird- obviously :D.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Japan. Maybe in 2018!

What turned you on to your sport? Living 20 minutes from the mountain, it's hard not to be obsessed!

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Youtube, Vimeo, FB, Instagram,Twitter etc. etc.

FB : Samantha Jo Clifton

IG: @sammyjoclifton

Website: sammyjoclifton.com

Store : Bigfootessentials.netv