Piper Harris - Wakeboarder, Florida, USA

 

 

Connect with Piper on Facebook: Piper Harris on Instagram: shreddergirl123

Piper Harris  - Freshman at Trinity Preparatory School in Winter Park, FL

14 years old 

I ride at Orlando Watersports Complex in Orlando, Florida and at train with Glenn Fletcher at O’Town Watersports. I also ride and train with Tarah and Cobe Mikacich at Freedom Wake Park. I can also be seen riding and shredding on the lakes around downtown with WakeSurf Orlando.

Weapons of choice:  WAKEBOARD, wakeskate, skateboard & snowboard

What’s an average day for you like?  school, wakeboarding, lots of homework, eat and sleep

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest?  The hardest part: learning how to get up   The easiest: having fun

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst, people underestimate me. The best, is meeting other girls and spreading the sport.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More female competitors & more competitions with equal opportunities and prize money

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Tomboy but girly at the same time

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? If you present yourself well you will feel better about yourself.

How dangerous do u really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities?  Wakeboarding is very dangerous and a lot of people have hurt themselves but they are sometimes freak accidents. Most of the time there are a lot of people around to help when a wakeboarder is hurt especially during a competition.

What is your favorite trick? Favorite on boat – a mexiroll; Favorite on cable – a huge poked out stale fish grab

Do you own any other toys?  I have a wakeskate, longboard, skateboard, penny board, an Indo board, and a trampoline.  I like to cruise on my skateboard  around the neighborhood and at wakeboard parks.  I like to balance on my Indo board while reading and even sometimes doing homework and studying for tests.

What are three things you could not live without? Wakeboarding, food, and sleep

What are your expectations for this activity/sport?  To become pro, travel the world and have new experiences

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Mom & Dad

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter?  Male: John Dreiling Female: Tarah Mikacich

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? School, homework, read, and watch TV

How about in the off season to stay in shape?   I wakeboard year round and work out.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Air Tricks

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport?  Traveled to the Philippines to compete at The WWA Wakepark Worlds and come in 2nd.  I also learned an air raley on the 2.0 system while there training for the competition.

What do you do to prep for a competition?  hang out with my friends and stretch before riding

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non-sports accomplishments also.     

2016 Wakeboard/Wakeskate Competitions

Pig on the Pond 1st place

Gravel Tour

Stop 1 3rd place

Stop 2 3rd place

Stop 3 1st place

Stop 4  2nd place

Series Finish 3rd place

Georgia Wakeboard Series

Stop 1 1st place

Stop 2 4th place

WWA Southern Regionals 2nd place

Wake Open 1st place Wakeskate

WWA Nationals 2nd place Wakeskate

Jib Ninja 1st Place Boat/1st place cable and Overall Ninja

Cable Points Chase – All 7 weeks

Open Women’s Features

1st week – 2nd;  2nd week – 2nd; 3rd week – 2nd; 4th week – 2nd; Series Finish – 1st place

Traditional Novice Division

5th week – 4th; 6th week – 3rd; 7th week – 4th; Series Finish – 3rd place

My Tige Wake

Wakeboard/wakeskate 3 Trick line – amateur women – 2nd place

Best Cable Trick – amateur women – 4th place

I competed at Points Chase/Cable Nationals, I rode well and qualified for WWA Worlds but didn’t make podium. I made to semifinals in both traditional and features.

The WWA Wakepark Worlds at CamSur Watersports Complex  -  2nd Place Wakeboard

Lettered - the Varsity Dive team as a 7th  and 8th grader at Trinity Preparatory School; President’s Award for Community Service – 2014; 2015; 2016;  Honor Roll at TPS;  DUKE TIP 2014;  Vocal Society;

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? I enjoy cable and boat both.  I love cable because of the features and being able to hang out with friends at the wake park. I like boat because you get a different adrenaline rush and it's more of a challenge to learn new tricks behind the boat.

What other extreme/action sports are you into?  I am on the Varsity Dive team, I like to wakeskate,  wakesurf, and surf. I love to go extreme tubing with friends.  

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Reading, swimming and photography

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why?  I ride a Liquid Force Super Tripp on cable and Liquid Force ME on boat.  Why?  Cable board – because I like the way it rides, it's light, flexy but not too flexy  and I like the shape of it. Boat Board – because I like the way it rides, handles and because you can lock your edge on it.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself?   You can ask other riders in advance how to hit the feature or if they think you are ready for it. I like to follow another rider that knows the feature, it's easy to learn when you can follow their edge and watch how they do it.

How would you describe your riding style? Technical.

What would you say is your signature trick?   Cable – A huge stale fish grab off of a kicker; Boat – Switch heelside wake to wake 180.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? A smoothie made by RoyAnn at OWC.

What do you want to be when you grow up?  A Pro Wakeboarder.