Marissa Marquardt - Skier/Wakeboarder (OH)

 

Your Age: 14

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Ohio - I ski at Snow Trails Ski Resort and I boat on the Scioto River.

Weapon(s) of choice: Ski, wakeboard, wakeskate, wakesurf, and I like get out and cruise on my longboard.

What’s an average day for you like? During the school year I will go to school, then my brother and I will go to Wendy's and then ski til our parents make us come home. During the summer I go to Ohio Dreams Action Sports camp where they have water ramps for skiers and snowboarders. They also have the famous Slip'n'Fly.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? Listening, instead of wanting to go huck something and get hurt you should really listen to the person who is trying to teach you the new rail or trick.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Best part is that I get to be an ambassador for SheShreds. Worst part is not a lot of girls ski park where I'm from, so I usually have to hang out with all the guys.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? The amount of girls - I would like to help increase it!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Easy going, fun, and steezy.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Spy goggles, Roxy, Armada, Full Tilt, K2, and North Face is super warm.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Looking good is important because I'm riding with all boys usually, so ya know...haha.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Well the average person can get a lesson, but you can't just click into some skis and do a jump unless you want to get rekt.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. I was at Ohio Dreams this past year, I was about to go change and my good friend was going for a cork sev, but right as he hit the transfer his edge caught and he hit his head on the water ramp. He was unconscious when he hit the water, probably the scariest night of my life. He is all good and ended up with only a concussion and some scars. The video is on jerry of the day!

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The happiness it brings to their lives!

What is your favorite trick? Just a simple 360.

Do you own any other toys? Snowmobile, longboard, pennyboard, wake skate, wakesurfer & wakeboard.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Probably when my friends text me while I'm listening to my music saying that they will be out there.

What are three things you could not live without? Sunglasses, camera, and food!

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My parents, siblings, and some really great friends

Who’s your favorite rider? Favorite rider is most definitely Nick Goepper, he is super nice (and very attractive).

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I play soccer also but usually hanging with friends and doing some crazy stuff.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? In the summer I wakeboard a ton, and in winter I ski a ton, and in the fall and spring I play soccer, so it all keeps me going.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To ski with new people and introduce new people to the sport.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Listen to some Odesza.

What competitions and other awards have you won? A lot of first place skier cross, and I'm on honors roll ;)

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Snow: park and backcountry. Wake: mostly boat sometimes I'll go to the cable park.

Favorite conditions? Pow, but that never seems to come to Ohio so we have to head out to CO.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Probably Whistler or New Zealand because there is some crazy stuff out there.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? anything with a good beat like Flume or Odesza.

What turned you on to your sport? My parents have skied their whole life.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Front flips to snow.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Wake and snow, but I would love to start BMX.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Probably nothing!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Miss Conducts by K2 skis, they are my all time fav.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Spotting your landing, because if you never look you'll never find.

How would you describe your riding style? Fun.

What would you say is your signature trick? Japan grabs with anything.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Probably Mountain Dew

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? A professional fun haver!

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram @marissa_marquardt