Machenzie Deck - Wakeboarder, Snowboarder, Surfer - Tennessee, USA

Connect with Machenzie: Instagram: machenzied Twitter: @Machenziedeck Facebook: Machenzie Deck

Your Name (and Nickname): Machenzie Deck (Pete) 

Your Age: 15 

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Melton Hill Knoxville, TN 

Weapon(s) of choice:  Wakeboard, snowboard, wakesurf, long/penny board, and  mountain bike.

What’s an average day for you like? Eat, sleep, hit the lake. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Difficult: New tricks. Easiest: having fun. 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Peoples' reaction when you tell them what you do, and the worst is that at most competitions the boys always win more. 

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes?  I feel like all girls should unite and make it so we are equivalent to boys when it comes to sports. 

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I can go from being a girly girl to a tomboy in 2.5 seconds.  

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out?  Nike, Under Armor, Burton, Roxy, SheShreds, DC.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best?  I feel like it doesn't matter how you look - just be yourself.

How dangerous do u really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities?   I think the things I do are on a totally different level than regular sports. 

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one.    I was wakeboarding behind a master craft x 56 with a local pro Jeff House (rides for slingshot). I wasn't even going for a new trick but the tip of the wake caught my board and made me basically do a scare crow, and trust me, I did not land it. I think I blacked out a little but my dad said when I hit the water it brought all 12 grown men you their feet including a E.R doctor. They thought I was out. 

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? How fun it really is and how you feel after learning new tricks. 

What is your favorite trick? Fashion Air, or stale fish. 

Do you own any other toys? We have a suzuki samurai that I drive off road. 

What gets you pumped up for the day? The thought that i get to do something that involves some type of board 

What are three things you could not live without?  Wakeboarding, the people that support me, and anything fun. 

What are your expectations for this activity/sport?  My expectations are really that I look forward to having fun. 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Probably my dad and Jeff House.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Jeff house, Steel Lafferty, Harley Clifford, and Tarah Mik. 

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Tumble.  

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I don't really have an off season. 

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To land a tantrum, or front roll. 

What do you do to prep for a competition Tumble and plan out my sets. 

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also.    I have won 1st in womens at Wakefest TN twice, 1st in intermediate at hiwassee river fest twice and 2nd once, 1st in pro grom (8-12) in INT TN 3 times against boys, and more. 

What’s your favorite “way” to ride?  Wake: boat. Snow: Freeride & park. 

Favorite conditions? Hit the lake after a warm rain. 

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Austrailia or cancun because those are the big wakeboarder stops. 

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Really any song that is catchy. 

What turned you on to your sport? My dad tried to get me to try it, and I hated it. Then I went to King of Wake and met Steel Lafferty, and Harley Clifford and I told my dad that wake boarding is the coolest thing on earth. 

Any new tricks you’re working on? Tantrum and toeside 180. 

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Got invited to ride in florida with a bunch of pros. 

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Mountain biking, dirk biking, and long boarding. 

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Probably playing soccer and tumbling.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Slingshot Pearl with jewel bindings (2014-2015). 

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself ? Just have confidence and have the right mindset. 

How would you describe your riding style? Rad! 

What would you say is your signature trick? Fashion Air. 

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? An Icee, or Gatorade strawberry watermelon. 

What do you want to be when you grow up? Pro Wakeboarder, or Primerica RVP.