Kira Holm - SUP/Snowboarder - Alberta, CAN

 

 

 

 Your Age: 9

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): SUP:Any open water! Usually the lakes and rivers around Edmonton Alberta, which is home. But I have paddled in the many lakes in the Canadian Rockies, all over Vancouver Island and even sneaked over to the beautiful lakes of Saskatchewan.

Snowboarding: When the snow flies I am lucky to have a few hills in the city of Edmonton so I can ride in the evening after school. The Rocky Mountains are only a few hrs away and my Dad takes me there a few times during the season so we can ride the powder together.

Weapon(s) of choice: Starboard All Star Junior SUP, Starboard Astro Jr. Inflatable SUP, Burton Custom Snowboard, One Wheel.

What’s an average day for you like? School, reading and studying, playing with my little brother, one wheeling to get the mail, Yoga, and sneaking in a paddle or a snowboard run.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? SUP: Finding the courage to stand up on the board as it can be scary and you might feel like you are going to fall in, but once you become comfortable it becomes fun fast.
Snowboarding: Learning to shift your weight from your heals to toes as you go down the hill and mastering the s turns. Learning to snowboard for the first time comes with a sore bum.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? SUP: Best and Worst is not having other girls my age to paddle with. There is no competition but it is harder to beat the boys who are older, and they are not as fun to paddle with when we go explore. There are a lot of awesome women Stand Up Paddle Boarders who are great inspiration and are fun to watch, a good inspiration.
Snowboarding: There are a lot of boys who snowboard, it is fun to watch their faces when I beat them down the hill. They think a girl can't keep up with them.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Equal media coverage and prizes for the girls and boys competition as the girls work just as hard.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Peppy and easygoing.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? I always reach for the comfortable clothing, shorts and tanks are my best friends in the summer and warm, funky leggings and sweaters in the winter.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? SUP is a safe sport with proper safety equipment such as a leash and life jacket and being aware of the weather. Always paddling with someone is not only fun but a safe idea too.
Snowboarding can be less dangerous than walking on the unpredictable icy sidewalks as long as you are cautious and make wise choices. I have gotten more bruises from a sidewalk than a snowboard hill.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. SUP: During the Battle at Telfort race last year I was taking a corner around the buoy and another racer bumped my board causing me to fall off and flip my board over top of me and upside down. I was able to quickly flip my board over with help from my Dad and got back on to pass the other racer and finish first in my race.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? SUP: The ability to paddle with friends and family and being able to go all over the place, almost anywhere there is water you can paddle. It is fun to challenge yourself in races and explore the great Canadian wilderness, lakes and rivers.
Snowboarding: Seeing how big snowboarding has become, You can go fast down the hill, do tricks, ride big hills and stay on groomed hills, there is something for every rider.

What is your favorite trick? SUP: Buoy turns and cross stepping up and down my board. Snowboarding: I like going fast...

Do you own any other toys? A one wheel.

What gets you pumped up for the day? I get excited thinking about the new things I will learn and the new places I will explore in the day.

What are three things you could not live without? Family, friends, and my iPad (it has all my music and videos,and pictures on it).

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? For me, having fun and meeting new people is my first priority in my sports. I have a great support team who helps me grow and push myself in new directions to be my best.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Mom, Dad, Warren (The Easy Rider), and many friends who have given tips and helped along my journey.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Diane J Wenzel (SUP Surf), Genna Flinkman (SUP Racing).

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Read books, playing with my younger brother, ride the One Wheel around, rock climb, watch movies with friends, go exploring with the family, building with Legos, doodling and being creative.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? The best thing is that SUP and Snowboarding usually have an overlap in the fall and in the spring it may only be a few weeks where there is no snow but still ice on the water. So besides praying for snow in the fall or begging for the ice to melt in the spring, I like to do yoga and swim.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? SUP: This year I will be attempting the Lake Kalamalka Crossing which is a 10 mile race.
Snowboarding: My goal this year is to beat my dad down the hill and I want to challenge myself to try new tricks in the park.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Listen to music and I tell myself that I can do it, I have trained hard, and I take the time to believe in myself. Knowing that I have a lot of support helps me stay calm.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. Battle of Telford (Super Grom) 2014, 2015
SUP Cup Edmonton River Tour 2013, 2014, 2015
GEM Girls, University of Alberta STEM Program

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? SUP: Full day adventure paddles, across a lake, down a river, wherever the adventure takes us.
Snowboard: Freerideing wherever the hill takes us.

Favorite conditions? SUP: Calm and clear.
Snowboarding: First lines on a groomed run, weather does not matter.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? SUP: Hawaii because it is a beautiful place with lots of ocean life to discover.
Snowboarding: Whistler, big mountain with lots of fun packed in!

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Toby Mac- Light a match and the whole "This is not a test" album (my favorite right now). Young and Free- This is Living. Mandisa- Overcomer, Joy Unspeakable remix, Good Morning remix
Anything with a good beat and good lyrics

What turned you on to your sport? My parents both paddle and snowboard and I was not going to be left behind. Now they try to keep up with me when I paddle.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Paddled on Pyramid Lake when it was sowing in late October. My feet were cold! It was also cool as my paddle board was cutting through the soft ice just forming on the lake.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Hiking and rock climbing.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would explore more, read more and find something new to try....

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Taking the time to listen and learn from others around you. There are a lot of experienced paddles and riders who are more than willing to share their expertise and tips.

How would you describe your riding style? Fun and relaxed.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? SUP:Chocolate milk and water... and oranges, many oranges.
Snowboarding: Hot chocolate and marshmallows

What do you want to be when you grow up? Right now, a pediatrician... but ask me again in 10 min.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to?
https://www.instagram.com/adventures_of_kira
https://www.facebook.com/people/Kira-Holm/100012325663031