Kimberly Wetherelt - BCSnowmobiler/Volleyball


     

Your Age: 21

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Fairfield, Idaho

Weapon(s) of choice: 2015 Skidoo Freeride 154" named Delilah

What’s an average day for you like? My average day consists of me getting my 7 year old off to school in the mornings, spend most of the day at my office, then come home to spend time with my family and do school work.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? I would say the most difficult part of snowmobiling for a beginner is learning to use your body to direct your sled. The easiest part is enjoying the powder days!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing about being a female in snowmobiling is that, for the most part, we all try to support each other. I know a huge group of women that I can reach out to when I'm having troubles with something or want to share something I have accomplished. The worst thing about being a female in snowmobiling is that sometimes we aren't taken very seriously because we are "just girls."

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I would like to see the exploitation of women in the snowmobile industry disappear. I would much rather be known for my hard skills and talent on my sled than for my body. I want my hard work to pay off and not be given things just because all of my pictures are provocative.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? My personal style varies drastically depending on what I'm doing. I dress professionally for work and when I'm at home I'm usually lounging in my sweats aka "fat man pants" as my son calls them. But if I'm going out with my girlfriends, you can bet I will be dressed to the nines!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? My favorite brand for snowmobiling gear is definitely DSG. It's the only line made exclusively for women by women. It actually fits my body the way women's clothing should!

How dangerous do you really think your sport is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Snowmobiling can be extremely dangerous in certain conditions. It's very important to always carry the proper avalanche gear when riding in the backcountry and take classes so you know how to use the equipment.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The thing that gets people hooked on snowmobiling is the feeling you get when playing in deep powder. It's like riding on a cloud!

What is your favorite trick? I don't know if I would call it a trick but I love jumping cornices.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Blue bird days and lots of fresh powder.

What are three things you could not live without? Mac 'n cheese, cupcakes, and George Strait are my three essentials!

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? My biggest expectation for the snowmobiling industry is to get more women involved in the sport and for more women to rise to the professional level.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My biggest supporters have been the guys in my normal riding group. They never gave me the option of being "just the girl" in the group. I learned real quick that I better keep up or stay at the trailer. Each one of them has taught me something over the years and I am truly thankful for it. They push me to my limits and beyond my comfort zone sometimes. Now when someone comments on me being the only girl of the group, most of the time they respond with, "she doesn't count as a girl."


Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? My favorite rider is most definitely Stephanie Schwartz. She literally grew up on a snowmobile and it shows in her riding. She is flat out amazing. She's not just another woman in the snowmobiling industry. Stephanie has done so much for women in this sport. She's a genuinely good person and her passion for snowmobiling is uncanny. Not only do I get the privilege of having her as my mentor, but I am lucky enough to call her my friend. As I tell her all the time, she is my spirit animal!

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Because I work full time and am currently in graduate school getting my Masters in Accounting, free time isn't something I get very often. But when I do you can usually find me spending time with my family or playing with my pet cow, Homer.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? In the off season I try to be in the gym a few times a week along with various outside activities.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? This season I have been working very hard on getting my powder turns a lot tighter without falling off. My goal for next season is to take my jumping to the next level.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? I prefer backcountry riding with lots of steep climbs to really challenge myself and push my sled to its limits.

Favorite conditions? Deep powder with a good solid base and blue skies.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? My dream place to ride would have to be Sweden. From the pictures I've seen, their mountains are incredible. It looks as if you could ride for days on end and never hit the same place twice. It is absolutely gorgeous.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I actually don't listen to music while I ride because I find it too dangerous. If I were to have music playing I wouldn't be able to hear an avalanche right away or hear if something is wrong with my sled.

What turned you on to your sport? My dad got me into backcountry riding. He got me on a sled for the first time when I was 17 but it was just on trails in West Yellowstone. A few years later, he bought a pair of sleds and took me off trail and I instantly fell in love. I've been riding with my dad for 12 years now and I love that I am able to enjoy this amazing sport with him.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I'm really not sure what I would do without snowmobiling. I'm sure I would find some other way to get a rush!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I have always been a Skidoo girl and recently had the opportunity to jump on a new 850. I instantly fell in love. My Delilah is great, but I may need an upgrade soon.

How would you describe your riding style? I try to make riding as fun as possible. Even when I'm having a "bad" riding day and I fall off a lot, I just make fun of myself, figure out what I did wrong, and get right back on.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Water, water, and more water!!!

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? That's a really good question. Since I'm in the process of my Masters in Accounting I suppose it should be something in the accounting field (which I'm already in). I guess you could say I'm good with numbers.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Youtube, Vimeo, FB, Instagram,Twitter etc. etc.

Instagram: @kwetherelt

Facebook: Kimberly Iversen Wetherelt