Kim Boersema - Kitesurf/Wake/Snowboard/Skier - The Netherlands

 

 

 Your Age: 24

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): I don't really have a location because I travel a lot. For the last 6 weeks I was in Austria. I'm now back in Holland. I can only ride on my longboard when i'm in Holland. all those other sports that I do is mostly when i'm staying in another country. In a few weeks I am going to Greece.

Weapon(s) of choice: Kite, Wakeboard, GoPro, and Snowboard.

What’s an average day for you like? Because of my job, I work a lot on the beach in the summer. That's what most of my days look like. And I'm always working with sports. In working time and free time to do my favorite sports. In the winter it really depends on where I am and what I can do

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? I'm a big fan of exciting extreme sports. The hardest part as a beginner is surely the fear I have. Afraid it's going wrong. The easiest part is that you're in good hands by a school if you want to learn a sport and so you can independently develop further in that sport. If you really love that sport, you don't have to be afraid and you won't give up.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst thing for me is that there is no equality between men and women. Especially for kite surfing. The best thing is that you can show them that they are wrong.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? That there is equality between men and women in the kite surfing and other extreme sports. And that more competitions for women.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? My personal style is very calm in the beginning, after I feel more comfortable I can be fun. I know what I want and don't give up on something.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Brunotti, Heid Liebt, Flysurfer, Vivida Lifestyle, Twintip, and Slingshot.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? It's not really dangerous if you have it under control and you know what you're doing. But most people says it is to dangerous!

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Not really a crazy crash, it was just really bad luck. I just had one last year in March with skiing. I didn't have enough speed to make a turn, so I felt and twisted my knee. I needed a year to recover.

What is your favorite trick? I do a lot of boardsports (kitesurfing, wakeboarding, snowboarding and since this year also longboarding) and on all these sports i just started. With wakeboarding I learned the trick Railey last summer in Egypt. I hope in the new kite season to develop more kitesurfing and learning some tricks.

Do you own any other toys?My GoPro is for me the most important toy when I'm shredding. I have also my own skis now. The other material for my sports that I'm doing, I mostly rent because I can't take all of my own toys because of all the travelling.

What gets you pumped up for the day? A good breakfast I think...but i'm not really a morning person.

What are three things you could not live without? GoPro camera and my own sports toys like snowboard and kite toys.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? For kitesurfing that I can kite independently and later do some tricks. Same for snowboarding, wakeboarding and skiing.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My mother, some friends and my aunt.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? I have a few favorite riders : Jalou Langeree, Dylan van der Meij, Jerrie van de kop and Youri Zoon.


What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? When I'm off from my work I like to go somewhere. Travel to new places.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Because I want to get a stronger body to stay fit for the whole year, I run and have a special training schedule. When I'm in a country where I can ski or snowboard, of course I will do that. So I don't really have a off season. It's nice when I can do my watersports in the summer and in the winter ski or snowboard.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? My biggest goal is try to reach the highest level of kitesurfing.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Listen to music mostly and just go. Clear my mind.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. I played soccer when I was little. I won some prizes and our team was champion of the year a few times.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Kitesurfing: freestyle and wakestyle. Wakeboarding: cable and boat. Snowsports: freeride.

Favorite conditions? For watersports the sea with some good and strong wind, but with wakeboarding at a cable park just without wind. For wintersports: fresh powder snow

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? For kitesurfing I have a few dream places like Zanzibar, Cape Town, Tarifa and Australia because I always wanted to go to these places, a lot of professional kitesurfers are going to these places and they have good competitions there. For wintersports only Canada. I always wanted to snowboard and ski on the other side of the world.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Mostly the songs of a dutch rock band called Kensington.

What turned you on to your sport? When I was young, I already loved doing sports. After High school I discovered extreme sports, but I was afraid to do that kind of sports. So I started really late with this sports. Four years ago I discovered kitesurfing and last year i was actually doing kitesurfing. The first time that i tried wakeboarding and skiing was 2 years ago and since then I've never stopped doing it.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Not yet!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? For now it's kitesurfing in Egypt, and I went to the one of the largest cable park in El Gouna to go wakeboarding. But I already know there will be coming so much more coolest things in my sports.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? First kitesurfing, then snowboarding, snowkiting, and wakeboarding.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would travel.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? Twintip board for kitesurfing because it is easy to start with.

How would you describe your riding style? Very calm, for now.

What would you say is your signature trick? I would like to have my own signature and I will get my own signature trick after I learn more in kitesurfing.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? I don't have really a favorite drink, but I like fanta or cola.

What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to be professional kitesurfer, but I have no idea if that's possible, but I always keep hope and never give up. Otherwise it would be so nice if my travel book will come in stores and later I want to have my own watersports event company somewhere on a nice place.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Facebook
Instagram: kimboersema & boardgirltraveller
My Blog On all there links I share my adventures and travel blogs.