Kenzie Morris - Big Mountain Skier (CA)

 

Your Age: 29

Your Location: North Lake Tahoe

Weapon(s) of choice: Volkl 100eights or Volkl One's (skis)

What’s an average day for you like? I wake up super early most mornings and first check the avy report and mountain conditions for the day, before ever getting out of bed and make a plan where I'm going to ride. Generally you can find me at Alpine Meadows or Squaw Valley, i have an amazing group of friends who have similar schedules typically one is available to meet up. I spend the morning riding different zones, if conditions allow we will typically spot some sendy lines and film each other riding them. I work almost every day so after a good day of riding i will head to the shop where i sell skis and fit boots till after dark before heading home to do it all again the next day.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? Skiing in general can be difficult to learn but what separates Big Mountain skiing is the concept of calculating fear and risk versus reward. Checking all aspects in cliffs, chutes, and other lines including air time, landing angles, speed, consequences, run outs, and then having the courage to then take those risks. As you get more comfortable with these "extreme" conditions they do become easier to judge and execute.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best aspect about being a female is the freeride community, when traveling on tour for the Freeride World Qualifiers the fellow female community is amazing. They are all the best skiers from their home resorts who come together to compete, but the support and friendships made are my favorite aspects.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Challenging the female stereotype to show all girls that being strong is beautiful too.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I enjoy being around people in small groups compared to crowds, and enjoying experiences that are presented versus always searching for what could be better.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Spyder Active and Mons Royal - a New Zealand Merino wool company

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I believe that surviving the elements is the most important aspect to skiing, especially in the backcountry. So if it's not exactly cool but will keep you alive rock it anyway and let your ability speak above your style.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? The loss of many friends speaks to the dangers of skiing both big lines and backcountry.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The adrenalin rush and overcoming fear and nerves for unfiltered enjoyment.

What are three things you could not live without? Beacon, Bacon, Boyfriend (Husband now)

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Girls who have been just a little better then I, who encourage and challenge me to strive for their ability level. The ski and race coaches who worked tirelessly through my youth, and my parents who at an young age instilled in me a love for the sport.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter? Candid... enough said.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing?

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I train in the gym, swim, hike, and run.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Working on a few film projects so to stay healthy and finish them out.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Inspect lines and ski them as if I were competing with a few friends around to help critique.

What competitions and other awards have you won? FreerideWorldQualifier 4* and 2* results
Snowbird 7th
Creigeburn 8th
Snowbird 12th
Crystal 13th
Castle Mountain 13th
Crested Butte 17th
Plus more...

New Zealand SSA
Half Pipe 2nd
Big Air 3rd

Methane Rail Jam 2nd
Mt. Hutt Rail Jam 1st

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Freeride

Favorite conditions? Chalky and fast

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I am also a professionally trained artist and would most likely be painting in a studio somewhere.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Ginger beer.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? Kind

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram: @kaygbiv / Facebook