Kayla Findish - Snowboard/Climber - Pennsylvania, USA

 

 
 

 Your Age: 22

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Seven Springs, PA.

Weapon(s) of choice: My Arbor 2016 Poparazzi.

What’s an average day for you like? An average day for me in the winter is to wake bright and early, grab a cup of coffee and some breakfast, and hit the slopes before class! As for the summer I work on a canopy course giving tours to people, so in my spare time I like to get together with my friends and go camping/climbing. We are always looking for new places to explore.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The most difficult part of snowboarding for a beginner is definitely learning to get back up. It can definitely be frustrating so don't get down on yourself. Just remember everyone started in your shoes at some point! The easiest thing is to just have fun with it!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing to me about being a female is that you are inspiring so many other girls to get out and involved in sports. The worst thing would be the gender stereotypes that are relevant in every sport.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I honestly would like to see more girls out riding. It's often hard to find girls to ride with, which makes SheShreds and awesome platform!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I personally go for comfort. If you were to see me on the street I would probably be rocking a T-shirt, skinny jeans, and my vans. During the fall I don't go anywhere without my flannel.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? I love to support local shops everywhere I go! Some of my fav name brands though would be Thirty-Two, Patagonia, and Vans.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Looking good definitely reflects how you feel about yourself. If you feel good about yourself your more likely to preform at a better level.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? There is a risk factor to any sport, but with snowboarding its a higher risk than a "regular activity" cause your constantly pushing past your limits of what you can do.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Yeah, actually last season. I watched a little girl coming down a trail on skis and she hit a sheet of ice and lost control. She was booking it and collided with another skier and when she went down (I'll spare you the details) it was just obvious that she broke her leg.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The stoke of it!

What is your favorite trick? Jibbing everything.

Do you own any other toys? Not currently.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Coffee, loud music, & snow covered mountains.

What are three things you could not live without? My friends, my snowboard, and my car.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? To be a better rider than I was yesterday!

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My family would have to be my biggest supporters. They've never really questioned my decisions and have always supported me even if they didn't understand. Especially my mom. You rock mom!!

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Danny Davis.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? A lot of studying!

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I climb a lot outdoors in the summertime.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To conquer rails!

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Freeride/Backcountry.

Favorite conditions? Blue-bird days.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Australia. I'm just in love with everything about that place.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? A lot of trappy/grimey music or funk! Just depends what I'm in the mood for. My favorites are Griz, Big Gigantic, Floss or some Jauz.

What turned you on to your sport? The stoke of it!

Any new tricks you’re working on? Board-slides.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Rock-climbing (indoor and outdoor).

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I honestly have no idea! I probably would have straight A's if that were the case.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My Arbor Poparazzi. It's just so playful!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Confidence is key! If you BELIEVE you can ACHIEVE you will SUCCEED.

How would you describe your riding style? It all just depends on who I'm riding with. Some days I just like to lay back and have fun and others I'm determined to nail that landing or stick that jump.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Water! Hydration is key.

What do you want to be when you grow up? I'm still kind of figuring that out. In the meantime I just know that I want to make a positive impact on everyone I meet.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to?
Instagram: kayla_findish
Snapchat/Twitter: @kfindish