Janie Hensley - Wakeboard/Surf/Skateboarder (GA)

 

Your Age: 9

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Clark's Hill Lake, Appling, GA

Weapon(s) of choice: Wakeboard: Ronix Autumn, Wakesurf board: Phase5 Scamp, Skateboard: Santa Cruz.


What’s an average day for you like? Get up early and go to school. When I get home I do my homework, eat supper and we jump on the boat for some sunset wakeboard/wakesurf sets.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The most difficult is being brave enough to cross the wake and learning to use your edges. The easiest part is riding and cruising.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best part about being female in my sport is encouraging girls my age to try watersports and the worst part is not many girls my age do watersports.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More events and awareness in my area so girls know they can do this!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Fun, unique, cute, sporty, easy lake-life, and sometimes crazy!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Sheshredsco, Justice and Roxy.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I don't know, I'm just a kid!

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Not THAT dangerous but it can be dangerous if you don't have good technique when you're learning.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. My dad crashed at a wakeboard competition. He came completely out of his board and disappeared under the water! He was ok though and won best crash of the day! (And a new helmet ;) ). 

What is your favorite trick? When people start trying it and having fun.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Big heelside jumps

Do you own any other toys? Electric scooter, Rollerblades, Schwinn bike for cruising down my street.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Me! I get myself pumped up by being me.

What are three things you could not live without? Family, Pets, My favorite stuffed animal

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Have more and more people like wakeboarding and wakesurfing in our area.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My mom, dad and brother.

Who’s your favorite rider? Shaun Murray and my dad

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Play with my dog, ride my bike stay in shape, skateboarding, and visit my grandma's house (she lives next door).

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Play outside

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Get my air 180, half cab and go wake to wake (wakeboarding) and Sit down on the board and do the gunshow (wakesurfing)

What do you do to prep for a competition? Practice tons and tons!

What competitions and other awards have you won? 3rd place in GA INT - 2015, 1st and 2nd place in Freestyle 100m swimming - 2015, Student of the month 2 times - 2015-2016

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Boat. 

Favorite conditions? Just after an afternoon rain and there are no other boats on the water - just me and the smell of the rain.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Callaway Gardens.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Punky Reggae Party - Bob Marley, ABC - Jackson 5, Me Too - Meghan Trainor.

What turned you on to your sport? Seeing my dad and brother practice and compete in competitions.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Jumping wake to wake.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Landing a big jump when I didn't think I was going to make it.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Rollerblading & Swimming

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Play with my brother, sketch landscapes, journal, and write poetry.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My Ronix Autumn wakeboard because it's fun to ride and it has cool designs and trick stickers you add when you land a new one.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Just keep riding

How would you describe your riding style? I work hard when learning new tricks but remember to have fun while doing it.

What would you say is your signature trick? Bunny hop/Ollie's -wakeboarding / Dance -wakesurfing

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Red Powerade or water

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? Be an awesome mom.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? www.facebook.com/JaniePunkyParty / @janiepunkyparty - Instagram