Erin Sands - Flowboarder (UT)

 

Your Age: 25

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Flowrider Utah in Ogden

Weapon(s) of choice: ASH flowboard, K2 skis, GoPro, Canon DSLR

What’s an average day for you like? Wake up, go to Starbucks for an iced caramel latte with soy milk, work, go ride (if it's not busy), go home, relax on the couch with my boyfriend and cats, try to go to sleep at a decent hour (unless it's Sunday and The Walking Dead is on).

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The most difficult part for me was letting go of the rope and going into the wave on my own; it was always easier holding onto the rope and keeping the board straight. The easiest part is how supportive everyone in the sport is and their eagerness to help with anyone who is just beginning and wanting to get better.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best and worst thing about being female in flowboarding is there's a small community of females. It's the best thing because going to competitions we all know each other and have a great time. It's the worst thing because the number of females is so small.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I think that there should be a women's clinic once every year to be able to shred with other women who enjoy the sport and progress.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? My personal style would be described as "Plain Jane". Right now, I am really loving the "Tomgirl" fit jeans from American Eagle; I usually pair those with a t-shirt and either a cardigan or flannel.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Sports apparel brands/designers I love are Roxy, Billabong, Patagonia, and Volcom. For stepping out I usually shop at Target, Bohme, American Eagle, and Zumiez.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Looking good is extremely important to feeling good. You need to be your personal best in order to do your personal best. Taking care of yourself is #1 in life because no matter what, the only person who will always be there for you is you.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I think that flowboarding has a mild danger factor to it. The worst I've seen is a broken bone. Other than that, the worst thing that can happen is getting hit by a board in the shin, which does hurt pretty bad. Skiing has a larger danger factor to it.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. One night, a kid tried to do a shuv it, fell, and landed on his shoulder blades. Then when he hit the top of the wave, he kind of flipped over backwards and landed straight on his right shoulder which broke his collar bone. When I worked ski patrol, I've seen too many crazy crashes.

What is your favorite trick? When people start trying it and having fun.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? I think it's because of how extremely similar to other water sports and skateboarding it is and the fact that it's a year round sport.

Do you own any other toys? I'm looking into purchasing my own DSLR so I don't have to continue borrowing my boyfriends.

What gets you pumped up for the day?Starbucks and living in such a beautiful place.

What are three things you could not live without? My family, my friends, and a camera.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I hope it continues to grow and more wave simulators are built.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? In life, it's been my family. Everyone was super supportive of my move out west and it's been the best decision of my life so far.

Who’s your favorite rider? My favorite female skier is Rachael Burks. I love how fearless she is and that she's an advocate for progressing female athletics through her site she founded "Female Wolfpack".

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I enjoy crocheting and slowly teaching myself how to knit. Another passion of mine in ceramics/pottery.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? That's the great thing about flowboarding, there is no off season!!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? My biggest goal would be to win the National Amateur Women's Division in the 2017 Flow Tour.

What do you do to prep for a competition? I usually put on some jams, jump around, and remind myself to HAVE FUN.

What competitions and other awards have you won? In Flow Tour 2016, I took home 2 gold and 2 silver. I also placed 3rd for nationals.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? On my ASH flowboard. I enjoy freeride when it comes to skiing.

Favorite conditions? Summer time so the windows can be open for flowboarding. Love bluebird days after a huge storm when skiing.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? I would love to be able to ski at Whistler one day and go to Australia to flowboard.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Twenty-One Pilots, FOB, Panic, and anything upbeat.

What turned you on to your sport? My boyfriend. I never knew anything about it because there aren't any wave simulators back home.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Starting to land a few BS big spins, next would be either front shuvs or a 360 shuv.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Traveling to competitions and being able to see new places.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I like watching skateboarding and snowboarding. I would love to learn how to downhill mountain bike and ride a dirtbike.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would invest more time into photography, crocheting, and pottery.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I am in LOVE with my board from ASH Flowboards. Every single board is HANDMADE right here in Northern Utah. I love knowing that someone took such time and care to make each and every inch of my board.

How would you describe your riding style? I'm trying to work on being more fluid with my riding and link my tricks together.

What would you say is your signature trick? I love shuv-its!

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Ice water with lemon and cucumber.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I want to be a crafter, whether that be crocheting or pottery.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/erin.k.sands / YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL15QBjBfkPRxjdo6v1HA3A / Instagram - @esands