Erin Eblen - Snowboarder & Wakeboarder - Ohio, USA

               

 

 

 Your Age: 15

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Brandywine and Boston Mills in Ohio.

Weapon(s) of choice: Stepchild Snowboard, Hyperlite Wakeboard, and my GoPro Hero 4 sliver.

What’s an average day for you like? I would normally get up and go to school, then probably go to my after school activities and if it's the weekend I would probably snowboard the whole weekend. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Honestly, the hardest thing about snowboarding and wakeboarding would probably be getting the hang of things. The easiest would probably be just progressing, even if it's very very small things. 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing would be actually knowing that there are other girls out there doing what you are doing and aren't afraid to try new things. The worst (from personal experiences) would be having a guy come up to you and say, "No you can't do this." or even saying something like you suck just because your a girl.  

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? What I would like to see change in my sports would be having more girls join any extreme sports.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? My style is creative. I would say with both snowboarding and wakeboarding. It's not the same as everyone else's. I personally like jumps instead of rails, don't get me wrong I like rails too. With jumps you can makeyour own tricks and get credit for it, for rails you don't really get credit for something you made up. 

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds.co, Nike, Burton and probably any other snowboarding/ wakeboarding brand out there. 

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Honestly, in my opinion I don't have to look good to feel good. I feel good about myself all the time and everyone should too. 

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Snowboarding and wakeboarding are extreme sports. You can easily get hurt compared to basketball and the other regular sports I do.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Okay, this happened in February of 2015. I was going off a jump to try a 360. Well, when I was riding up the jump I caught an edge of my snowboard and it looked like I was in a back flip rotation. I landed 3 inches below my neck. I was so scared to go over jumps but I got over the fear real quick. 

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? I would say all the excitement, thrill and adrenaline that comes with snowboarding and wakeboarding.

What is your favorite trick? A 180 going off of jumps.

Do you own any other toys? We also own a snowmobile, a boat, a go-cart, a travel trailer, a waver runner and a stand-up jet ski.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Knowing that I woke up another day, listening to music and thinking about my goals I need to achieve.

What are three things you could not live without? My family, best friends  and my snowboard & wakeboard. 

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? To get out there and have fun and to try new things. 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My family and my friends.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Mark McMorris and Torstein Horgmo.


What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I honestly don't have a lot of spare time but I will normally play on my phone.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I play basketball and I run track.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? To make it to Nationals in Colorado. 

What do you do to prep for a competition? I will listen to music, pray and get a pep talk from a friend who is also competing.  

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. My first competition I got first place in Slopestyle in the USASA SnowOhio series at Brandywine and Boston Mills (My home resort.)  

What’s your favorite “way” to ride( wake sport- specific, cable, boat, winch)(Snowsport specific- park, freeride/backcountry, urban)? My favorite way to ride for wakeboarding would be behind a boat. Snowboarding would be park and free ride. 

Favorite conditions? Powder and a solid base.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? My dream place to ride would be at Park City because I have never been out of state snowboarding. Plus, it would be a really neat experience for me in a way to progress my riding.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Bass Music.

What turned you on to your sport? A very close family friend asked me to go snowboarding with him and I was kind of scared but I loved it. My family owns a camp ground & boat, and my friends that are older started wakeboarding & wake skating behind the boat. I thought it was really cool, so I strapped in and tried it! 

Any new tricks you’re working on? If it ever snows this winter I will begin to try my first tame dog.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Win a snowboarding competition. 

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I love to ride the go-cart and snowmobile. 

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Honestly I would bored out of my mind. I would probably be hanging out with friends or practicing my other sports. 

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My favorite snowboard would be my stepchild snowboard. It's the first snowboard that I have ever gotten and I love it.
Wakeboard would probably be my Hyperlite board because the design fits my personality and it rides really good.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? I don't have a trick, I honestly just wing it and see what happens! 

How would you describe your riding style? Creative.

What would you say is your signature trick? A 180.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Gatorade or Powerade 

What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to be a professional snowboarder. I have progressed so much within three years that I have fallen in love with this sport. This is my dream and goal to become a professional snowboarder.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to?



Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/erin_eblen/ & https://www.instagram.com/erineblen_/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/eeblen/