Emily Evins - Snowboarder - South Carolina, USA

 

 
 

 Your Age: 17

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): I am from Spartanburg, South Carolina but I ride at Beech Mtn. in North Carolina

Weapon(s) of choice: My weapons would probably have to be my Burton Board, 686 Jacket, and definitely my GoPro!

What’s an average day for you like? Well I am still in high school, I will graduate May of 2017. So during the week I am at school, but on the weekends I love to go on hikes and shredding the mountains in the winter.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The most difficult part about first learning how to snowboard is probably the turns. I struggled with my toe side for the longest time, but as soon as you get your turns down the rest of the skills fall into place.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing about being a female snowboarder is that you can show off but the worst thing is not getting enough credit for doing the sport.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I'd love to see more girls come out and board.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I would describe my personal style as preppy but very chill. I love to look nice when needed but I am also a big fan of big t shirts and leggings!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Oh man, I have quite a few favorites! Burton, 686 and of course SheShreds.co will always have my heart!

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I love dressing up and looking cute! It definitely helps me be more confident as a person and a rider! "Dress to impress"

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Like any sport there comes the risks. It is so important to wear helmets and protect your brain. (Even though we all know at the end of the day helmet head isn't to flattering.)

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Oh man... When I was younger we went out to South Lake Tahoe for Christmas break. This is when I first learned how to board! As I was passing the terrain park this guy was going out of control. Soon enough he hit a HUGE jump and I just remember him flying in slow motion and then hitting the snow so hard!

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? I think the fact that snowboarding is just an awesome and cool sport in general gets people interested!

What is your favorite trick? My favorite trick would probably have to be a tame-dog. I am a former cheerleader so the rush of doing flips and being upside down is so much fun to me!

What gets you pumped up for the day? Honestly my "Shreddin' the Gnar" playlist gets me so hyped for the day to get out on the mountain. Yes, the cheesy name is so good not to laugh a little!

What are three things you could not live without? Three things I could not live without would have to be my little brother who always makes me laugh, snowboarding, and hiking.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? My expectation for this sport is to have fun and spend quality time with friends.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My close friend Jack and other boarding friends have been my main supporters, helping me reach my goals as a snowboarder.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? My favorite riders are Mark McMorris and Silje Norendal.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? In my spare time I spend it either outside or inside studying for school.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? In the off season I play lacrosse and work out to keep in shape!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? My biggest accomplishment for this upcoming season would be to have no broken bones or scratches on my face!

What do you do to prep for a competition? I have never competed because where I live the competition is hard to find, but from being a competitive cheerleader and lacrosse player stretching and hydration are a major keys!

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. For high school competitive cheer we finished an undefeated season, Region Champions and received 3rd in the State Championship Competition in 2015.
I am also on the Beta club for my academics

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? My favorite way to ride is definitely park! I love doing rails and jumps, but also backcountry is another favorite.

Favorite conditions? Fresh powder! I mean who doesn't love those fresh powder days!

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? My dream place is Jackson Hole, Wyoming! I went for winter break one year and absolutely fell in love with the entire experience! I am hoping to go back in the future, I love it so much!

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Doses & Mimosas-Cherub, Forever-Drake, Twenty One Pilots, G-Eazy, Harlem- New Politics, All summer Long- Kid Rock, Chainsmokers, Animals- Coast Modern, and The Weekend.

What turned you on to your sport? Watching Shaun White win his first Olympic gold medal definitely got me hooked on to this sport! I had a small obsession with him (I have to admit).

Any new tricks you’re working on? I'm working on a little bit of everything just to get better!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? The coolest thing I have ever done is probably the traveling to different ski resorts around the country. From Beech Mtn, NC to Jackson Hole, Wyoming and Lake Tahoe. I love to travel and explore new places!

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I don't know if you would count competitive cheer and lacrosse as extreme sports but I do play both for my school! For cheer I am a flyer, base, and for lacrosse I am a mid field player and goalie!

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? In my free time I would probably be hiking or somewhere outdoors. I love going outside even if it's just to do homework!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My favorite board is Burton Genie. It has a happy medium of flex and curve so it is great for both park and back country!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? The trick to riding features is confidence and balance. NEVER attempt anything with out confidence that you're going to succeed, because most likely if you don't the end will not be pretty! One of my snowboarding instructors once said "If you tell yourself you can't do something, you won't do it. But if you say 'I AM THE MAN' you can do anything". I literally live by this quote!

How would you describe your riding style? I ride regular but would like to learn how to ride goofy as well! I love being in the park hitting rails and boxes, but I also love just bombing through runs going fast and racing my friends down the mountain!

What would you say is your signature trick? My signature trick is probably just basic 360º buttering. I think they are so fun and could go all the way down the mountain doing them!

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? My favorite refreshing drink after riding all day would probably have to be a blue or green Monster. I definitely need that energy boost!

What do you want to be when you grow up? When I grow up I either want to be a middle/elementary school teacher or a small animal vet! I am a sucker for cute kids and animals!

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? 
https://www.instagram.com/emilyevins/
https://twitter.com/EvinsEmily
Snapchat: Ejeemily