Emily Blakeman - Longboard/Photographer - Australia

 

 
 

 Your Age: 21

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Australia

Weapon(s) of choice: Longboard and my camera.

What’s an average day for you like? Working then skating and taking pictures until it gets dark.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Learning balance, especially for people who have never stood on any kind of board before. The easiest thing would have to be having fun!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The worst would be that there aren't many other ladies to skate with, we seem to be few and far between. The best part would be watching the scene grow, hearing of more and more ladies getting into the sport.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Casual and comfortable.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds of course!

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Having that extra confidence due to looking good and feeling good is very important, especially in sports that require you to get out of your comfort zone. Self confidence is a big help!

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? It is quite dangerous, but as long as you know what you're doing and wear safety gear and take all the necessary precautions the danger is greatly minimized.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The adrenaline rush and the high of going down hills.

What is your favorite trick? Stand up slides are currently my favorite tricks.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Music and good food.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My mates that I skate with, they've helped me so much by teaching me things and encouraging me to always be my best and to push myself

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Rachel Bagels Bruskoff, Maga McWhinnie, Emily Pross, Patrick Switzer.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Play guitar, cook, play with my pets, spend time with friends and family.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I go to the gym.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Going faster.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Freeride is my favorite.

Favorite conditions? Dry and hot.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Mary Hill.

What turned you on to your sport? My friends started doing it.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Toeside tricks such as drifts and stand up slides.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I'm currently on a Rayne Misfortune and I absolutely love it. It's perfect for my little feet and stance, and it has the kind of concave that locks your feet into exactly where you want them.

How would you describe your riding style? Flowy.

What would you say is your signature trick? Pendy sliding. I did that slide for a long time before I progressed onto anything else so now my mates call me the Pendy Queen.