Elliot Hanks - Snowboard/Skateboard - New York, USA

 

 

 

 Your Age: 7

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Upstate NY - ride at Swain NY. Tumbling at Titans Gymnastics in Dansville NY.

Weapon(s) of choice: Snowboard, balance beam, trampoline, iphone 4 for videos.

What’s an average day for you like? School, home, practice 3 times a week. Dinner with family and bed. Weekends are spent on the trampoline or tumbling in the backyard. During ski season I on the board the whole weekend. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Difficult :Buckling the board. Getting past the fear to hit the rails. Easiest part is boarding down the hill. .fast.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Being the only female competitor at home mountain. Wish there were more girls to compete against, to challenge me...best part is I win!

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More girls need to be involved in pushing themselves and following their dreams...not just settling for the norm. I would love to see more local programs for girls in our area to encourage and build confidence

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Cool, fun, spunky. No dresses. Mostly athletic wear and comfy clothes.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Sheshreds, JBird, Justice, Nike/adidas high tops.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? As long as you wear a helme, take lessons, try your mobes safely and with a friend it is no more dangerous than any other sport. All sports and even life have risks.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Their love for that sport. The first time I put on a board, I told my mom that I would never ski again. But the first time I hit that rainbow rail I knew I was hooked.

What is your favorite trick? I don't have a bag of tricks just yet. Learned how to ollie and started hitting rails.My favorite rail is the rainbow rail.

Do you own any other toys? I have a trampoline.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Kids bop.

What are three things you could not live without? Sophia, puppies, and Grandma (family).

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I would like to get better at snowboarding each year. Keep practicing hitting rails. I would like to travel to compete in some more rail jams or contests next season. I practice my cartwheels and handstands and flips daily.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? Mom, dad. Brother, grandma and grandpa as well as my best friend Sophia!

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Mom and Emily Kokot.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Play with my brother and family.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Jump on trampoline and play summer sports like softball and soccer.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season?  Rail slide a big, long rail...when the rail jam comes hit each rail.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Practice, practice,practice - no rituals yet.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. Won first place for 14 and under female division. Also won a jbird t-shirt and a sheshreds t-shirt.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Snowboard: park.

Favorite conditions? Groomed packed snow.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? I would like to ride the indoor resort in Dubai.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Gungum style.

What turned you on to your sport? My mom is a snowboarder..and this year she let me try it out!

Any new tricks you’re working on? Working on ollies and rail slides.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Swain stars and bars rail jam 2016. And won!

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Gymnastics.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Playing with bestie Sophia.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? K2 board - my first board and I got it for my 7th birthday!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Practice and wearing a helmet.

How would you describe your riding style? Sweet...can ride both switch and regular.

What would you say is your signature trick? Don't have on yet.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Lemonade.

What do you want to be when you grow up? The greatest snowboarder ever!

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? FB: Kellyhayeshanks