Dee Chan - Dirt/Road/Moto Racer - Ontario, CAN

 

 
 

 Your Age: 31

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Wherever my truck takes me!

Weapon(s) of choice: Any Honda machine but my favorite is my CRF250R.

What’s an average day for you like? I'm always on the go! From driving my mini me to school, then to work and then cheer practice after school. I then operate my business in the evenings and in between clients I help my daughter with her homework, make dinner and kiss my fiancé maybe a few times so he doesn't feel left out. Weekends is when I get my fun in! Being as am part of a motorcycle family, you can usually find us at the track with our youngest (4 years old) on a motorcycle.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? For someone starting out on a bike and has never been on one, would be learning how to control the clutch. It can be a bit tricky. I remember stalling and wheeling the first several times on a bike.

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? Worst thing about being a female in my sport is that there is really no great fit for gear. Best thing is being that role model for younger girls who look up to women like me in this sport... and I have eyes on me all the time with my little girl riding too.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? More programs to get females interested in the sport... small steps... especially with dirt bikes or road racing, I came to understand that most females do not start the sport because it is a male dominated sport and they see the intentness of it and just don't have the confidence to try. By having programs for females who can start out with the fundamentals and a race series just for the novice beginner riders. also providing the support for females who want to try these sports but can't afford to, is a big help.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I'd say Devil wears prada crosses country chic. You'll see me rock a lacy swing dress paired with neutral colored Steve Weitzman and one of my LV purses... Meanwhile driving either my 1/2 tone or 3/4 ton pick up truck.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? For my sport: SheShreds co., Definance Lifestyle, True MX, Fox, Oakley, Dragon, Alpine Stars. For stepping out: Aritzia, Wilfred, Community, Babaton, Louis Vuitton, Prada, Steve Weitzman, Christian Louboutin, Jimmy Choo.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? When I feel that I'm looking "blah" I will feel "blah".. I don't exude any confidence because I don't have that confidence in myself. When I know I look great, I have some "pep in my step" hold my shoulders up high and feel like I can conquer the world!

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Well one wrong move and it can kill ya. so its pretty dangerous if you ride beyond your means. Ride smart...

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. My biggest crash came on a snowboard actually. I was maybe 13 years, my friends and I were riding at a ski resort and we decided to cross the "caution" tape going across the board park. Well I tell you what, that was a huge mistake. they haven't painted the lines on the lip of any of the jumps/tables. so I'm bombing down the hill unexpectedly hit a jump, flying way past the table top and slowly I feel my legs go above my head... I landed on my back and thank goodness I had a helmet on... but I suffered a concussion, bruised my kindney, separated my shoulder and strained my T8 and T9.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? Speed!

What is your favorite trick? Just railing that corner... such a great feeling.

Do you own any other toys? With engines...2 pick up trucks and 5 motorcycles. Without engines... skateboard and snowbaord.

What gets you pumped up for the day? My daughters smile.

What are three things you could not live without? My daughter, hubby to be, and my motorcycle.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Just to continue to improve and ride faster!

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My loved ones.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? VALENTINO ROSSI!!!

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Practice cheer with my daughter.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Snowboarding!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Win nationals.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Put my hair up in a bun and listen to some gansta rap. Or country music... whatever is on the play list.

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also. Through out school I've accomplished to achieve pretty good grades resulting in a scholarship for university.  Also, during my first road race I placed 4th out of 18 riders... that was pretty rad!

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? No falling.

Favorite conditions? Cool and not humid!

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? As long as I'm riding with the ones I love, any place is a dream.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? A little bit of dre, a dash of taylor swift with a sprinkle of johnny cash.

What turned you on to your sport? As a kid, I thought I just looked so cool. so when I moved out of my parents house, I bought my first motorcycle (because they never allowed it when I was under their roof ).

Any new tricks you’re working on? Falling with some grace.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Meet my favorite racer!!! Being in the scene gets you to some cool places and meet some really awesome people.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Skateboarding, snowboarding, karate
wakeboarding.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? Sleep!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? HONDA because Asians stick together.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Never ride beyond your means...

How would you describe your riding style? Just rip it, grip it, and ride like you stole it!! throttle open! BRAAP

What would you say is your signature trick? Sliding by back end.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Wine is WIN just with an 'e'!

What do you want to be when you grow up? People grow up?

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? @dbunni213 instagram