Courtney Bamford - ATV/Snowmobiler - Manitoba, CAN

 

 
 

 Your Age: 29

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Manitoba, Canada.

Weapon(s) of choice: Snowmobile, ATV

What’s an average day for you like? I work shift work, so depending on the shift I get up, hang out with my three dogs, and then check over, head out on my sled (in the winter) usually with my awesome boyfriend who pushes me out of my comfort zone. Spend a few hours out in the snow working on whatever skill I'm trying to master! Then I'll come back home and likely head to work! In the summer I spend a lot of time fishing, camping, quadding and exploring! I love days off to spend the day on my sled or exploring my beautiful province!!

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? Finding people who want to ride with a beginner is sometimes difficult, but I'm lucky and have found a few great people to ride with! The easiest part of snowmobiling is just the freedom when I'm on my sled I don't have one worry or trouble!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? It's hard to be taken seriously I feel like as a woman you have to prove yourself twice as much. The best part is finding that community of lady riders that are awesome and support you, I'm lucky and have an amazing friend who pushes and supports me with my snowmobiling and basically everything else!!

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I think what I want to see change most is the portrayal that females in sports have to look a certain way, I feel like that discourages a lot of girls when it comes to sports and it's not fair, I think if you want something you can do it as well as you work for it!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I am definitely a casual person!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? All of my gear is FXR, I love it! 509 Helmets are great!! Underneath my gear I usually wear something warm (base layers are my best friends). When I go out I wear a lot of FXR and Fox racing I can't wait to get some SheShreds clothing to wear out and underneath my gear!!

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I think when you feel like you look good you feel good! It's important to be happy with how you look, but never stop pushing yourself! Good clothes always help you feel great!

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? There's dangers in everything you do, if you're aware of the risks and take the steps and educate yourself on your sport then you can be better prepared for the dangers.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. The worst crash was rolling my ATV and breaking my collarbone. I still have the helmet and the visor is shoved so far down it is impossible to move it!

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? I think the most addicting part is the freedom and the peace, seeing a totally open area full of untouched snow is the best feeling ever!


What is your favorite trick? I'm working really hard on carving so that's most definitely my favorite!

Do you own any other toys? It's not a toy really but I have a 2005 Chev Silverado that I've put a lot of hard work into and I love it!!

What gets you pumped up for the day? When I wake up and see that it's snowed all night is a great way to get pumped up!

What are three things you could not live without? My boyfriend because he supports me and pushes me. My family/dogs (because they are family) and friends. And my snowmobile of course!!

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? Just to keep pushing myself and gaining more and more confidence.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My boyfriend, my best friends Jenna and Sasha and my family!

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? My favorite riders are Julie-Ann Chapman and Nadine Overwater.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I love to hang out with my dogs and I like reading and movies. Sometimes it's great to have a down day and not do much! I also love to hunt and fish!

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Trying to do more hiking, and just be outside doing whatever activity enjoying the day, yoga is one of my favorite ways to exercise!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Hopefully going to master carving this winter! Haven't had great snow conditions so it makes it more difficult and cat walks!

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Backcountry.

Favorite conditions? Calm, crisp and lots of fresh fluffy snow!!

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? British Columbia! I can't wait to try mountain riding!

What turned you on to your sport? Just loved it for so long and finally decided I was going to buy a sled and learn!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? First time I got my ski up I was so excited!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I have a 2015 ski-doo freeride and it's such a blast to ride!!

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Water.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? @courtneyb146