Cherisse McLure - SUP/Longboarder (AB)

 

Your Age: 33

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): I live in Alberta, but travel between British Columbia and Saskatchewan to find beautiful lakes to paddle and explore!!

Weapon(s) of choice: I have an Adventure SUP LOVE board 11'2", as well as regular inflatable board thats about 10.5'. For paddles I rotate between a SUPLOVE carbon paddle and a custom made wood True North Paddle. Hoping to add a GoPro camera and suction to my line up in 2017!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? Chill, laid back, relaxed. Most days I am wearing jeans and a tee or tank (depending on how chilly it is here), a hat or a toque, a soft snuggly sweater or hoody and Vans or flip flops. I think it is super important to look well put together, but still be comfy :)

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Burton girl and Element, but I am on the look out for some killer rashguards and paddling apparel ;)

What are three things you could not live without? Water, to drink and paddle on. A notebook and pen, to draw and write down ideas. And most important my family, cause they are awesome and crazy and they make me who I am!

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? Go on adventures with my daughters Sloan and Elly. Paint, draw, design. I also cook and bake a lot! My youngest daughter and I have extreme wheat and dairy allergies (just to name a couple) that cuts out A LOT of convenience foods, so I have a lot of prep work and cooking/baking time to do! Creating yummy recipes, and eating super healthy!

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Yoga, and the gym. I make sure I am eating right and getting enough sleep.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? My goal for 2017 is to enter the two local river races, Rednick race and the Easy Rider river race. I also plan to do a long river trek through the Rocky Mountains this summer.  

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Iceland!!! (hoping for 2019!)

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Michelle Franti, Jack Johnson, Bob Marley, Sublime

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? ...not planning on growing up!

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? You can find me on Instagram at @giant_me_designs and @prairiegirlsadventureco