Caity Johnson - Mountaineer/Photographer (VA)

 

Your Age: 26

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Live and play in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.

Weapon(s) of choice: Whitewater kayak, my Nikon (and my sometimes my iPhone) for photos, backpack, fishing rod, yoga mat, climbing harness - just depends on the day!

What’s an average day for you like? I'm not sure if I have an average day! I'm finishing up my Bachelor's degree in Environmental Studies. I currently work as an Instructor/Guide for my school's outdoors program. I have been very involved with Virginia's American Canoe Association in the past as well as teaching Leave No Trace ethics. I love to be outside as much as possible!

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The easiest? Learning, growing, and enjoying the thrill. The most difficult? Finding the time to do it all!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing is being inspired by the women who have set out to conquer before you and inspiring others to do the same. The worst thing is maybe there still being a lack of females in certain sports.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? Continuing to spread the message of supporting other female athletes and adventurers. More girls getting out there and having fun!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I'm usually wearing hiking boots, a band tee shirt, and jeans! Very simple, very practical!

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? SheShreds of course, Prana, Patagonia, NRS/Astral/Kokatat for paddling gear.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? I think having the right gear and being well dressed and equipped to take on your next challenge always makes you feel better and perform better.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Life is about taking risks! You have to realize you take chances every single day - might as well enjoy it.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? I think being on the water - enjoying a different environment, a different perspective - is very exciting.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Knowing that the world is out there for me to make the most of - it's time to enjoy every minute.

What are three things you could not live without? Being able to go outside and play, my dog, my camera.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? To learn new skills and moves and to enjoy the outdoors - all complete with rapids.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My friends and family for sure!

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? School and work, of course!

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I try to hike all the time - no matter the season. Also, yoga almost every day is essential.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? Keep building confidence.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? I would love to paddle out west one day! To see new rivers and scenery would be awesome. Maybe a Grand Canyon rafting adventure is in my future.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? I will always have random music stuck in my head. It could be anything from Black Sabbath to Bob Marley. I'm especially a fan of classic rock and alternative music.

What turned you on to your sport? Need to do something new and exciting.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Through my passion for kayaking, I've been able to work with the ACA and promote them at different paddling events.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I want to get into climbing more, it's a lot of fun! While I've done mountain biking photography/videography and built mountain biking trails ... I've never mountain biked! Maybe one day!

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would travel as much as possible.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? I don't have a particular favorite at the moment - though I've always enjoyed Liquidlogic's boats.

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? Have fun, be confident. Know what to do if something does go wrong, however. Always be prepared - it's the #1 rule in life.

How would you describe your riding style? I am open to learning anything and new experiences.

What would you say is your signature trick? I like to surf!

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Kombucha!

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I'd love to work in wilderness or wildlife management.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram @caijohn13 / Facebook