Bo Roark - Snowboarder, Breckenridge, CO, USA

 

Connect with Bo:  Instagram: light_l0ve  Twitter: COREroaaar  Snapchat: light_l0ve

Your Name (and Nickname): Bo Roark (Bo is actually a nickname but the only name I go by)

Your Age: 26

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Breckenridge, CO

Weapon(s) of choice:  Snowboard: 146 Burton Talent Scout with Lexa bindings, Skateboard: 303 shop deck (pressed by NHS distribution), Independant 130 trucks, 303 Colfax 53mm wheels and Independant bearings

What’s an average day for you like?  I wake up, start some coffee, stretch, look at the conditions for the day, turn on Odesza pandora and get ready to shred. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest?  The most difficult part is not giving up. I’ve never quit at anything but there was a point where I almost gave up on snowboarding. It is not the easiest thing to learn but every time you get back on the board you get better! The easiest thing is making friends! There are so many fellow shredders that are willing to help you. It makes learning fun!

 

 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport?  The worst thing about being a female in snowboarding is there aren’t a lot of other female riders in comparison to males. I grew up around sports and have always been a female athlete. My main sport was soccer and played Division 1 is college. I do miss the bond between other females, it's so much different and unique. Knowing another female is there to hold you down and have your back is very inspiring. On the flip side, the best part of being a female is my guy friends push me to be better and give me a lot of credit for trying new things. It feels really good and is encouraging! Plus, when a group of guys are thinking about hitting a rail and I cruise through and stomp it, their reactions make it all worth it!

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes?  I would like to see more female specific equipment and gear. It can be very difficult to find the same tech in boards and bindings for females as it is males. I have asked reps on many occasion why that is and they always say the same thing, “When more females start riding, we’ll start making more.” That responds always bums me out. But I am stoked to see more and more females brands and happy to be apart of SheShreds! Every females brand, big or small helps spread the words and get more girls out there!

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style?  My personal style is a combination of style and ease. Even when it comes to going out I will always choose something I feel comfortable in. When I feel comfortable, I feel confident.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out?  If I’m not on the hill, I’m skating or working out. You can always find me in my Sorels, Raybans and a Candy Grind beanie. As for street wear, I’m usually rocking Burton, Nikita or Nike and of course SheShreds!

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best?  I truly believe that if you feel confident you will exude confidence! I always feel my best when I look my best. For me it starts with nutrition and exercise! Nothing makes me feel more confident then suppling my body with proper nutrients to help me excel in the gym and on the hill.

How dangerous do u really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities?  I actually think snowboarding can be very dangerous and it’s called an extreme sports for a reason. Whether you're on the groomers or in the park, it is really important to know the mountain guidelines and have the proper equipment. You can be the best rider in the world but you can’t control other riders.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport?  I think just being outdoors! Nature, specifically mountains are so magically and have a profound effect on people.

What is your favorite trick?  I love to gap onto rails and front board to fake, super tweaked out!

Do you own any other toys?  Yes, I have a skateboard and of course a hacky sack!

What gets you pumped up for the day?  My breath! Just knowing I am the creator of my happiness is more than enough to get me excited for the day. And the mountains, every time I look at them I get an overwhelming feeling of gratitude.

What are three things you could not live without?  Mountains, music and coffee!

What are your expectations for this activity/sport?  I hope to inspire other females to try new things. After college soccer, I was so lost and confused and learning how to snowboard filled that empty void! And now, I’m 26 hitting rails and learning to skate. Age is really nothing but a number and often we let it limit us!

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now?  My homies back home in St. Louis! They think my gypsy/adrenaline junkie lifestyle is rad and support me in everything I do! My parents are really supportive too. They may not fully understand it but they know i’m happy and thats what matter most to them.

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)?  My favorite rider is Christy Prior the way she rides and jibs is unreal! She is fearless and her style is unmatched!

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing?  I spend a lot of time on me! I love to workout, meditate and write. Also, occasionally I get back in front of the camera and do a few shoots here and there.

How about in the off season to stay in shape?  I do a lot of weight training. I think muscles are sexy and also help me progress in snowboarding and skating. My new thing is stretching! I am not very flexible and it's starting to hinder my progression. I try to stretch every morning and get a massage once a week!

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season?  I want to 270 out front and back on a rail! I’m really close!

What competitions and other awards have you won? Include your non sports accomplishments also.  I’ve had a lot of accomplishments through soccer. I think my most gratifying award was getting a full scholarship to a D1 university for soccer. Other than that, finally getting signed to a modeling agency in Korea and Hong Kong was a pretty big thing for me!

What’s your favorite “way” to ride( wake sport- specific, cable, boat, winch)(Snowsport specific- park, freeride/backcountry, urban)?  I love park! I am completely obsessed! There is nothing that gets me more stoked then stomping a trick. 

Favorite conditions?  A warm, bluebird day! I don’t even care what the snow is like as long as it’s warm and I’m riding with my friends!

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why?  I would love to go to Japan. I’m not a huge powder rider but I’ve seen some pictures from Niseko and it looks like a real life Narnia. Plus, I love sushi and udong noodles!

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone?  For shredding, i’m definitely all about rap and hip hop. I love blasting Tupac, Bone Thugs, Drake, J. Cole and Logic.

What turned you on to your sport?  My body was to banged up to play professional soccer so after I made the decision not to, I was really bummed out. It was like going through a identity crisis. My whole life, I was working towards becoming a pro soccer player and once that gone I didn’t know what to focus on. I decided to learn a new sport. I’ve always wanted to snowboard and skate but was never allowed to try. My parents and coaches were too scared I would tweak or blow out a knee. So, I packed up my car and drove to Breckenridge! It has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

Any new tricks you’re working on?  I’m working on front board to 270 out and back board to 270 out! On the skateboard, I’m just learning to turn around on ride off of things.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport?  I would have to say hitting my first rail and my first c box. I had only been on a snowboard for 20 days but had been excelling really fast. I was at a GNU camp with some female pros and they showed me how to 50/50 a rail and how to back board slide a c box. I stomped them both first try. The cheers, excitement and pure disbelief from friends and pro snowboarder is something I will never forget. I got mad props that day!

What other extreme/action sports are you into?  Like I mentioned before, I just started getting into skateboarding and I’m obsessed!

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have?  I would probably become an even bigger gym rat and own 4 dogs!

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why?  I love the Burton Talent Scout! My favorite thing to do is jib and this board is made for jibbing! Also, because of the EST tech I am able to press out and butter around!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself ?  PROGRESSION! There is a progression for everything. Have a plan start small, get used to the movements, visualize and build confidence. The worst thing you do is try something you're not ready for. Trust me, I know! Three shoulder surgeries and I’m still struggling with it, all because I tried something I wasn’t ready for!

How would you describe your riding style?  I love the park but I’m definitely an all mountain rider. So I would say all mountain ninja!

What would you say is your signature trick?  Frontside lipslide to fakie

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting?  Coffee! My mom is Korean and we always grew up having coffee time together. So there is something about coffee that alwas signifies wrapping up a day.

What do you want to be when you grow up?  I just want to be me. I want to always be true to myself and always exude my most authentic self to the world. I know that if I do that, everything else will always fall into place!

 

IG: light_l0ve

Twitter: COREroaaar

Snapchat: light_l0ve