Ashleigh Thomas - Kneeboarder, Australia

 

Connect with Ash on Facebook: Ashie Tee  Instagram: ashietee90

Your Name (and Nickname): Ashleigh Thomas, (Ashie, Ash, Thomo)

Your Age: 24

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Morgan SA Australia

Weapon(s) of choice: kneeboard, wakesurf, motoX, snowboard and ski 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner?  I think kneeboarding is seen as an easy beginners water sport, until people realize how far you can push it. Getting people to have the courage to cut hard and jump seems to be a challenge. 

 

 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport?  At this stage, in South Australia, I believe I’m the only sponsored female in the sport. I think girls need to see that it’s not just the guys who can push kneeboarding to its limits and that girls can have the strength to pull off huge tricks too. 

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes?  I think it just needs more advertising, there are currently no kneeboard competitions here. All the events are created by our own kneeboarding crew- “freestylers” and we have competition days between ourselves as mates. Which I the only girl at the moment, but I hope to change this. 

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Jobe watersports Australia obviously for helping me represent kneeboarding and letting me ride using their gear, and SheShreds to help push the name and sport for girls. 

How dangerous do u really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Its not dangerous at all. As long as you ride within your capabilities and step up gradually, you’ll be fine. Crashing out is part of learning! 

What gets you pumped up for the day? Waking up to nice butter (flat) water gets anyone excited for a day behind the boat.  

What are three things you could not live without?  Sunglasses, river, my dog 

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now?  My fellow freestylers buddies, Adrian Meus got me into riding, and since then I’ve had the support of Jobe Watersports Australia and SheShreds to continue pushing the sport. 

How about in the off season to stay in shape? I go to the gym, I also play sport-soccer- in the winter months to keep active and fit. 

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season?  I would love to finish the summer season being able to land a layout.

Any new tricks you’re working on?  Just focusing on the finer things, however landing a big wake to wake frontroll cleanly is on the cards. 

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport?  Landing my first backroll was a big achievement, to have the support of other riders, and the possibility of being the only girl who’s done it in the state! 

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Love motorbikes road and off road, snowboarding/skiing, wakeboarding, skating… I give anything a go. 

What’s your favorite board to ride and why?  Jobe Prophecy- it cuts hard and clean and has the most comfortable kneepad I’ve ridden on yet. 

How would you describe your riding style?  Laid back. You’ve gotta enjoy what your doing.   

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding?  Somersby apple or pear cider.