Anna Kistner - Snowboard/Longboarder - New York, USA

 

 

 

 Your Age: 20

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Holiday Valley and Holimont.

Weapon(s) of choice: Sector nine northern lights longboard, Solomon snowboard, GoProHero+ 

What’s an average day for you like? I start off my day by getting up early eating breakfast and heading to class like everyone else. However, I spend the whole time in class thinking about how I can maximize the free time I have. My classes end at two and I waste no sunlight I head to the barn where I horseback ride to fit a trail ride in, go to the local ski resort to snowboard, or I hangout at home watching Netflix while using my indoboard. All my days are different but I am always movie no matter what. 

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The easiest? The easiest? The most difficult part is the initial fear of getting hurt. The easiest part is just getting lost in it and having fun. 

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best part is having the supportive community with other female riders ( aka : sheshreds.co crew ! ) . The worst part is having people treat you as if you don't know what you are doing.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Vans, Volcom, and SheShredsCo (obviously).

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Looking good and feeling good go hand in hand. Looking good brings confidence and with any sport confidence is key in order to try new things and do your best.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? It is a lot more dangerous than regular activities, but that's what makes it fun! 

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. The very first day I bought my longboard my friend and I went out to look for hills to bomb. We found an awesome one that was well paved and led to a parking lot. He went first and I followed. Halfway down my board started to speed wobble and I completely wiped out. I cut my hip and had a huge cut down half of my arm. 

Do you own any other toys? Indoboard & slackline.

What gets you pumped up for the day?  Avocado toast!

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My two older sisters are definitely my biggest supporters. They are super rad and constantly inspire me to try new things! 

Who’s your favorite rider/shooter (photo/video)? Jamie Anderson.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? In my spare time I horseback ride, hike, and travel. 

Favorite conditions?  Fresh pow!

What other extreme/action sports are you into? Rock climbing, wakeboarding, hiking, running, and horseback riding.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I honestly do not know. I don't want to think about a world without longboarding!

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding/shooting? Water! I always drink TONS of water. 

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram: @annakistner