Allie Huish - Ski/Climb/Yogi (UT)

 

Your Age: 21

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): Beaver Mountain, Utah

Weapon(s) of choice: K2 Fulluvit (skis), Atomic Century (skis), Gregory Amber 70 Liter Backpack, 1996 Subaru Legacy Outback

What’s an average day for you like? Working on my bachelors degree in Biology, identifying aquatic invertebrates from the Arctic in the Fish Ecology Lab at Utah State University, skiing Beaver Mountain, and working in their Ski Rental and Repair Shop.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? Getting over the fear of the possibility of an injury was hard for me. But this can easily be accomplished because skiing and climbing take place mostly outside and it is BEAUTIFUL!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? I hate being underestimated and feeling the need to prove myself. But I continually get to prove people wrong! And that is one of the best feelings in the world as a female athlete.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I'm actually a huge hippie.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? Patagonia, Mountain Hardware, Dakine, Arcteryx

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? I actually had a recent lesson on just how dangerous my sport can be. A coworker and I ducked under some out of bounds ropes at Beaver Mountain early this year and became lost in the backcountry for over 13 hours. We were extremely fortunate that through the efforts of both Ski Patrol and Search and Rescue, we were found at midnight that night. My life will never be the same after that night.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. Once, at Grand Targhee, I watched my friend collide with another snowboarder going WAY too fast. My friend hit his head on the other rider's helmet, giving him a shiner and a huge goose egg on his head and the other rider may have sustained some broken ribs. It was scary to say the least, mainly because of just how hard they collided.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? I think the biggest "hook" skiing has to offer is that it is a combination of some incredible scenery and the exhilaration from going fast.

Do you own any other toys? A few of my favorites include my: Chacos, MSR Ascent snowshoes, Grand Trunk hammock, and Duke AT Bindings. Now I just need to get some skins!

What gets you pumped up for the day? Good music is KEY!

What are three things you could not live without? My pets, the mountains, and learning new things.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My parents, my boyfriend, and my amazing coworkers at Beaver Mountain.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? Diet is key! I am a vegetarian and really enjoy cooking as well as yoga and backpacking to stay in shape.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? I'm looking to really step up my park game this season and enter more rail jams! I'm hoping to place in at least one rail jam this season.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? Freeride.

Favorite conditions? Deepest pow you can find.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Banff Canada looks so, so gorgeous. Also the snow is a dream, I'm sure.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? Joining SheShredsCo has probably been the best thing I've done with skiing!

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I love rock climbing and yoga. I used to play lacrosse in college and I actually grew up snowboarding before switching to skiing when I was about 16 years old. Snowboarding still holds a place in my heart.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? My home would probably be a lot more clean and I wouldn't procrastinate my schoolwork so much. Haha! But I'd probably find even more fun ways to spend time with my dog and my cat, work on perfecting more vegetarian recipes, do even more yoga, and probably seriously take up knitting/crocheting.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My K2 Fulluvit skis are my favorite. I demoed them at work the year before they came out, and less than a year later I had saved up enough to get them brand new for myself! K2 is one of the only ski brands that acknowledges women like me who are looking for a ski they can really push themselves on. Far too often I am disappointed to find that many brands create only super soft skis for women that become completely chattery under my feet. K2 created a beautiful combo of lightness/playfullness while making sure the ski held an edge while you're testing your limits on the slopes!

What’s the trick to riding and not hurting yourself? Just GET ON THE RAIL! The first time hitting a feature is always the hardest, so I have found that it's best to stop thinking and just hit it before I let myself get too psyched out.

How would you describe your style? I like to charge. I ski fast and hard almost always.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? I want to be an Aquatic Ecologist.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram: @__wizz & @__shredhead