Abbey Cowan - Surf/Skateboarder (FL)

 

Your Age: 9

Your Location (where do you ride mostly): New Smyrna beach for surf, Orlando for skate

Weapon(s) of choice: Surfboard, skateboard, Mom with her camera to catch some action shots, and my big brother who is an awesome surf/skate coach.

What’s an average day for you like? During the week I go to school. My favorite subject is math and science. After school I love to chill at home. Weekends are usually super full - we surf, skate, or usually do something outside. I love doing anything with my family.

What is the most difficult part of your activity/sports for a beginner? The hardest part is learning how to pop up on the surf board and keep your balance. The easiest part - riding the wave. It's so cool!

What is the best and worst thing about being female in your sport? The best thing is that I have a chance to be part of a group of girls that are making a big impact in surfing. The worst is when people don't think I can surf because I am either too young or a girl.

What would you like to see change in your sport to make it better for you and other female athletes? I think it would be cool to see more pro surf competitions with women and men competing against each other.

Besides your ability and style factor as an athlete, how would you describe your personal style? I am pretty laid back. I like to feel comfortable. My style needs to work with me being outside so I can surf, skate, fish, hike, kayak, or whatever else my family is out doing.

What are your favorite brands/designers for your sports apparel and for stepping out? I love Billabong, O'Neill, Roxy, and awesome t-shirts from Redbubble.

Let’s hear your thoughts on how important looking good is to feeling good. “Being” your personal best? Looking good is all about feeling good. I dress in styles that fit my personality and not what everyone else is wearing. I like to be unique because no one is like me.

How dangerous do you really think it is compared to what people do in their regular activities? Surfing can be dangerous. Where we surf there are a lot of sharks near the inlet at New Smyrna Beach. We know they are there and we respect that we are in their home. It is a risk you accept. You can also get hit by another surfers board or your own when you wipe out. Then there are rip currents and getting thrashed around when you wipe out. But, the ride is worth it all.

I bet in your experience you have seen some crazy crashes. Describe one. The worst I ever saw was at the inlet when two surfers ran into each other. One guy had a huge ding in his board from the other surfers fin. The other guy had a pretty good cut on his leg.

What usually gets people hooked on your activity/sport? The ride. It is just me, my board, the ocean, and the ride. You are living in that minute.

What is your favorite trick? Right now I am just learning how to turn and trying to snap back. It is a work in progress.

Do you own any other toys? I have a skateboard that I enjoy riding, especially with my big brother. I also love to go fishing.

What gets you pumped up for the day? Just knowing I get to go out and do something I love. That's enough.

What are three things you could not live without? My family (including my dogs), surfing, and steak with potatoes.

What are your expectations for this activity/sport? I just want to learn as much as I can and have fun with surfing. I hope to see girls continue to grow in the sport.

Who have been your biggest supporters in getting you to where you are now? My parents and my brother. They support me in everything I want to do and that's awesome.

Who’s your favorite rider? Coco Ho and Sage Erickson. I love watching their surf videos.

What do you do in your spare time when you’re not riding/shooting/competing? I hang with my family and dogs. We like to go fishing, kayaking, camping, make trips to the farmer's market, and spend time with friends. I take hip hop dance classes too. I also like to draw.

How about in the off season to stay in shape? We live in Florida so I can surf most of the year. I just got a new wetsuit so I am ready for the cooler water. But I also have a Indoboard and I skateboard too.

What is your biggest goal to accomplish this/next season? I want to get my turns and snaps figured out.

What do you do to prep for a competition? Practice, practice, practice. That and have fun.

What competitions and other awards have you won? I am on the honor roll at my school. All A's! I'm still learning about surfing so I am working on skills so I can win my first surfing award hopefully this next summer.

What’s your favorite “way” to ride? My board is more of a longboard style. I like the long ride with some small turns.

Favorite conditions? 3 foot waves at about 10-12 seconds and a offshore wind. Clean waves, warm water, sunny skies.

Where would be your biggest dream place to ride and why? Hawaii. I want to go there and some great female surfers have come from there. It would be really cool.

What song(s) do you listen to while riding that puts you in the zone? Right now I like "Hair Up" by Justin Timberlake, "Supermassive Blackhole" by Muse, "Shake the Room" by Gamu, "Swampthing" by PegBoard Nerds, and "Don't Wanna See Your Face" by the John Butler Trio.

What turned you on to your sport? My dad and brother both surf. So, they got me into it.

Any new tricks you’re working on? Snapbacks

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done in your sport? As I'm still learning, just starting is the coolest thing I have done. It takes a lot figure out how to pop up and ride a wave it. That's pretty cool.

What other extreme/action sports are you into? I like to skateboard. I also love to snorkel. When I turn 10 I plan on getting my scuba diving certification.

If extreme/action sports didn’t exist, what would you be doing with all the free time you’d have? I would probably swim a lot more! I would also draw, read, and ride my bike.

What’s your favorite board/bike/sled to ride and why? My Modern Blackfish board. It is a great board and I get some awesome rides on it!

What’s the trick to riding features and not killing yourself? You have to learn how to read the waves. I'm still working on that one. You also have to be aware of what is going on around you at all times.

How would you describe your riding style? Laid back.

What would you say is your signature trick? Working on that one still.

Favorite drink of choice to refresh yourself after a long day of riding? Lemonade.

What do you want to be when you "grow up"? A Marine Mammal Trainer.

Any of your own web pages or social media buttons you want links to? Instagram: @abbeygirl11